Goodwill Finds

10 Jan

I felt like I hadn’t done any updating of our house in a while.  I wasn’t really inspired and couldn’t find anything I wanted, so there wasn’t a lot of activity around here.  I think I was using all my energy on recipes and Christmas gifts and whatnot.  Now that I don’t have that stuff eating away at my time, I am anxious to get back to home decor.

I decided to head to Goodwill because I usually have good luck there.  It was during one of their auctions so the store was pretty crowded, but people were congregating around the auctioneer.  This meant that I had free reign of the rest of the store.  I stumbled on some cowboy boots that I really wanted.  I tried to squeeze my foot into them, but sadly, they didn’t fit.  Which is pretty shocking because I wear a 6 or 6.5.  No luck though, so I continued on to the home goods.

I’m always looking for a birdcage because my friend Morgana has a plant in her kitchen that she put inside a little birdcage and I think it’s the cutest thing ever.  Well, I didn’t find a birdcage, but I found this instead:

I’m pretty sure it’s for candles, but I thought a plant would fit nicely inside of it.  As if it were fate, I also found little terracotta pots at Goodwill.  So, I brought them home too and re-potted one of my plants in it to complete the look:

Then, I hung it right in my kitchen window:

I also found some really great oval and round frames.  I plan to spray paint the two larger ones, and leave the little one as is. 

I think for the larger one, I want to use chalkboard paint to make it its own little chalkboard.  What do you think?

So, for a grand total of $12 I got all of these great things.  Oh, and one other frame that I’m already using for wedding pictures. 

Do you tend to have good luck at Goodwill?  What’s your favorite find?

10 Responses to “Goodwill Finds”

  1. catie 01/10/2011 at 10:17 pm #

    i LOOOOOVE goodwill! i always find the best stuff there…i decorated my entire wedding with thrift store finds!

    love the wire planter thing, it looks great in your window!

  2. Kate 01/10/2011 at 11:47 pm #

    what great finds! I used to shop at goodwill for tee shirts in high school, but haven’t been back as an adult. I should go!

  3. Steph 01/11/2011 at 9:10 am #

    I haven’t been to a Goodwill in so long.. I must go soon, especially since so many people seem to make such amazing finds! I especially love the picture frames you got.

  4. Amy 01/11/2011 at 10:08 am #

    Love the great finds!!! Ahhh goodwill. My frames from there are still sitting in a pile, finished….but they are super cute 🙂 Great idea about the hanging plant! I may have to copy you!

  5. Jessica 01/11/2011 at 10:54 am #

    Those frames are awesome, I really need to hit up my local Goodwill.

  6. Amy 01/11/2011 at 11:36 am #

    Nice loot! Can’t wait to see all your frames together. What a great idea.

  7. Marissa 01/11/2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Great frames, Fro Yo (do you mind I call you that?) Are you gonna add them to your frame wall?

    • kelsey@mintedlife 01/11/2011 at 2:35 pm #

      I think I am going to add 2 of them, except for the chalkboard paint one. And, I don’t mind being called Fro Yo at all. 🙂

  8. Megan 01/11/2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Please come teach me how to get awesome things at Goodwill! I’m always so overwhelmed when I walk in, that I can’t see the promise in any of the items. I always admire the awesome things you find and repurpose!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 01/11/2011 at 2:36 pm #

      I’d love to! You’re welcome to come visit Austin any time. Or, if I’m up in your area, we’ll get together. 🙂

Leave a comment