Refurbished Wood

9 Jan

So remember when I was talking about wanting to make my own floor mirror and I made Sean carry discarded wood down our street?  Well, this weekend we finally got to work on it.  It’s not entirely finished because I need to figure out how to hold the mirror part in place, but I was too excited to wait, and I thought you all might have some ideas for what I should use to keep the mirror attached. 

We started with the wood and attached metal brackets all the way down to connect the boards together.  We just hammered them in place.  And by we, I mean Sean while the dogs and I watched:

So here’s where things got interesting.  The wood was split in one spot.  I was trying to be positive and pretend like even though there was a huge gaping crack, this could work.  Finally, I remembered that we own a circular saw, so I suggested that we just use that to cut off the unsightly part.   Sean grabbed it, cut it, and we were good to go.  Here’s the aftermath:

Iused a damp cloth to wipe off the wood. And that was it.  We were totally done.  Oh, right except for that part about attaching the mirror which I still haven’t done.   But before we could drag it inside, we needed to figure out where to put it.  I canvassed our house and decided that it would fit perfectly in our dining room.  So in it went.

And here’s Sean trying to hold the mirror in place so that I could snap a few photos:

He got tired of that gig and left me alone, so the mirror is sitting lower in this one, but you get the idea:

So, it’s coming together and I’m really happy with how it turned out!  Best of all, the entire budget for the project was just the cost for the brackets which were around $2/each and we got 3 of them for a grand total of $6.  But, I still need to find something to hold the mirror in place.  Any recommendations?

7 Responses to “Refurbished Wood”

  1. Jessica 01/10/2011 at 7:24 am #

    I think it looks great! I wonder if Liquid Nails would work to get it stuck? Just a big squirt on the back might do the job. 🙂

  2. Chelsey / Gloss 01/10/2011 at 8:07 am #

    The Lettered Cottage just added mirrors to their closet doors and they just used something like liquid nails for mirrors –

  3. Mina 01/10/2011 at 11:46 am #

    clearly i have no help for you on the practical aspect (although what is this liquid nail thing, i am fascinated), but just wanted to say this is so cool!

  4. killer b. 01/10/2011 at 12:27 pm #

    I’d recommend silicone, the kind that comes in a tube to fit in a caulk gun. That’s what they use to attach countertops and wall mirrors. Then, to add a little gravitational stability, maybe you could add some sort of corner piece on each edge, like photos in a scrapbook. Maybe some rustic looking hardware. The silicone adhesive will keep it attached to the wood, while the brackets will keep it in place and add a little design oomph.

  5. Amy 01/10/2011 at 1:37 pm #

    I just want to say your mirror is going to rock your socks! As for recommendations, I dunno…duct tape? Not useful. I can’t wait to see how it all turns out!

  6. serena @bigapplenosh 01/10/2011 at 3:35 pm #

    No suggestions, but I think it looks fantastic!

  7. Amanda @ The Fix-Its Blog 01/10/2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I’m sure Mr. Fix-It could make a proper suggestion. I just wanted to say I adore this project!

Leave a comment