Spending $100

11 Jan

So, I have a $100 gift card from Christmas that’s burning a hole in my pocket.  Here’s the thing…I am having a hard time deciding between 2 things.  One of them in is in the fashion realm and the other is home decor.  What’s the better way to spend my money?

In the fashion realm, I really want these boots:

Source (please don’t buy them in a 6.5)

I have these exact boots in brown, and I wear them all the time.  Those are grey by the way.  So, I’m pretty sure that I would wear the grey ones too.  Plus, I’ve been on the hunt for grey boots for some time now.  The problem is that it’s already January, and I feel like I won’t really be able to wear boots much longer.  For those of you in cold climates, I’m sure you’re disagreeing with me, but in Texas our cold season is on its way out.  On the other hand, even if I don’t get to wear them much longer this year, I’m sure I’ll still wear them next fall and winter.

As for the home decor, I want this:

Source

Or maybe this:

Source

I think it would look really good above my fireplace.  And, if you need a visual, here it is:

I know this is trendy and I probably won’t want it forever, but I think it’s cute for now. 

So, if you were me, which item would you go for?  The boots or the ceramic animal?

14 Responses to “Spending $100”

  1. Jenna 01/11/2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Oh, lady. You’re speaking my language here. I vote boots, but then again, I will usually opt for the fashion related item when given a choice. They’re super cute, and I’m sure you would be able to get tons of use out of them this season and next.

    With that said, I also looove the animal decor. It would pop against the brick on your fireplace, and I think it would tie in white from the cabinets wonderfully.

    You just can’t go wrong with either!

  2. Mary 01/11/2011 at 9:58 pm #

    I’m torn! I think the ceramic animal would like fantastic with your fireplace, but those boots are adorable (don’t worry, I don’t wear a 6.5).

    I live in Chicago, where the only boots I get to wear are my Sorels, so I’m going to vote for the animal–home’s the best place to be up here!

  3. estelle 01/12/2011 at 12:20 am #

    I vote for the boots. You’ll get a little wear out of them still this year, and then you’ll be all excited to wear them again next year. I can’t say no to a good pair of shoes. Happy shopping!

  4. Melinda 01/12/2011 at 8:35 am #

    Oh man, I love the animals! The white would be so awesome against the stone and will really pop with the white bookcases.

  5. Amy 01/12/2011 at 10:05 am #

    ooh tough call. ceramic animal = enjoy all year round but boots? girl’s gotta have shoes. in multiple colors.

  6. Alice 01/12/2011 at 10:22 am #

    I vote for the shoes!

  7. serena @bigapplenosh 01/12/2011 at 10:48 am #

    I must say I’d pick the animal over the boots. I LOVE the animal!!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 01/12/2011 at 11:10 am #

      I know! I think the animal is awesome too, and it’s only $50, so I’d still have some money to spare…

  8. Mina 01/12/2011 at 5:11 pm #

    hm, tough one. i love the white animals, but i’m going to vote boots as well. maybe because i want to live vicariously through you. and you’ll get to wear them next year, since you won’t have worn them too much this year.

  9. Kim 01/12/2011 at 9:00 pm #

    I actually saw the fake taxidermy on the original website and thought of you immediately…it’s a sign…go with the animal head.

  10. shelikesruffles 01/13/2011 at 8:37 am #

    PICK THE DEER/MOOSE HEAD!!!! Oh sorry – did I yell? I absolutely LOVE those…every time I walk into Z Gallerie I stare at them and drool…I want one SO bad. However, I have to wait until we have a more permanent living situation and a place to put it! Do itttt

  11. Lea 01/13/2011 at 11:22 am #

    If you already have a pair of boots, I’d go with the deer. It makes me chuckle. If no boots, though, I would definitely get the boots. They’re such a great winter look, and, as I’ve discovered since getting married, folks seldom give gifts to “just me” anymore. As a result, my wardrobe has suffered. It’s nice to get a cool piece of clothing for myself every now and then! (-:

  12. Kimberly 01/13/2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I have those boots in cognac and loveee them. I also received a similar pair in black this Christmas and wear them every.day. I would go for the boots. They last practically forevas and are always a classic!

Leave a comment