Man Uggs?

1 Dec

The debate about man Uggs is rampant right now because Tom Brady just announced that he was going to be the face of the boot line.  This isn’t the first time he’s made questionable fashion choices.  He was recently sporting a Justin Bieber haircut. 

Source

Ok, but back to the point.  Man Uggs?  Are we buying into this?  Is it sexy for a man to wear shearling boots?  Should the classic tall be worn by women and men?  I’m of the camp that no, they shouldn’t.  I don’t really like to see my men do the jean boot tuck thing, but maybe I’m alone in this.  What do you think?

Source

Perhaps the short boot with shorts?

Source

It’s still a no for me. 

They do have some more masculine looking boots in the line that look like they might be worn by a lumberjack, and maybe I could get on board with that.  But overall this is a trend that I hope Sean stays far, far away from.  Luckily, he’s not so into trends, so I don’t really have to worry about it. 

So what do you think?  Man Uggs a do or a don’t?

21 Responses to “Man Uggs?”

  1. jenna@fivefourteeneleven 12/01/2010 at 9:44 pm #

    Absolutely not.

  2. Mina 12/01/2010 at 11:16 pm #

    heehee i can’t get over the bieber haircut comparison. heehee. brilliant.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 12/02/2010 at 11:23 am #

      Mina, is this your way of saying you’re a fan of the man uggs?

  3. Amanda 12/02/2010 at 7:58 am #

    I’m not really a huge UGG fan to begin with. I don’t own a pair…and the only ones I really like that would possibly buy are the knitted ones. But for men? ewww! It looks terrible! My hubs is like yours and isn’t into trends 🙂 Lucky us!

  4. Morgana 12/02/2010 at 9:36 am #

    fUGGly! worse than meggings

  5. amg 12/02/2010 at 9:41 am #

    No. Just…no. It’s all sorts of wrong, sort of like when guys wear super skinny jeans (IMHO).

  6. Nikki 12/02/2010 at 10:23 am #

    Man uggs are wrong, unless you live in a place where you really really need them like Antarctica! I would never let my hubs wear uggs!! EWW!! You would think Gisele would stop such a horrible thing!

  7. Marie 12/02/2010 at 11:59 am #

    No…no, no, no…absolutely not! There are too many things wrong with those, I can’t even begin to start.

  8. Steph 12/02/2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I actually totally shocked that they are coming out with man Uggs.. literally every guy I know absolutely HATES Uggs.. so why would they want to wear them?! My fiancé actually throws a little fit every time I wear mine, because he thinks they’re that ugly, hah!

  9. catie 12/02/2010 at 12:35 pm #

    um. no. nonononononono. NO! my husband even hates it when I wear uggs. this would never go over in my household. lol.

    love the bieber hair comparison, too funny!

  10. Jessica 12/02/2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Okay, if Tom Brady starts wearing man-Uggs with that horrible haircut, I’m turning in my Patriots fan card. 😦

  11. bohemianbailie 12/02/2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I am from a beach city and way before UGGS were a big fashion thing surfers were wearing them to the beach in the early morning which I am ok with. I think that making it into a big fashion spectacle is wrong though.

  12. Marissa 12/02/2010 at 4:29 pm #

    Brady – Bieber hair, HYSTERICAL!!! My vote is NO on UGG mentrend, although I kinda agree with @bohemianbailie. Question – is the next mantrend gonna be Hunter boots? I hope not, then again maybe it already is and I am late on that trend train…..

  13. Kelly 12/02/2010 at 4:36 pm #

    That is just wrong! No man UGGs EVER! Are they going to start wearing jeggings next?

  14. Katie 12/02/2010 at 6:41 pm #

    1 – Justin Bieber’s hair should be on Justin Bieber ONLY.
    2 – Yeah…not digging the man Uggs. I own a pair of the classic tall ones in black…I FOUGHT it for a few years, until I tried on a pair. I still think they are ugly, but when I have errands to run and I’m out and about, they are really great. I also love that I don’t have to wear socks with them, because I hate socks. But on men? Heck…no. The ONLY Ugg product that I would buy for Justin (and I almost did last year) is a pair of their slippers with rubber soles…they look like loafers…so they don’t look douchey like these toolsheds do…

  15. Kelly 12/03/2010 at 9:54 am #

    NO UGGS for men, ick just ick

  16. Amy 12/03/2010 at 4:27 pm #

    HA this post is really funny because my boss actually has TWO PAIRS OF MAN UGGS! Both short varieties, one in leather and one in the soft style you pictures above. He thinks he looks so European in them and I think he looks lame. Oh well, to each their own!

  17. Kimberly Michelle 12/07/2010 at 9:51 pm #

    I’m so confused. Why do people think men’s UGGs were just invented?? They were originally for men!

    I’ve owned UGGs since 1992… my Dad and brother had pairs a few years before that for surfing. My Dad lives in his UGGs at home and during the winter (and he lives on the central coast of CA). I think I’m on my 4th pair of Talls and 3rd pair of shorts. My first were forest green Ultra UGGs in 7th grade (1993 Christmas).

    I guess not everyone grew up where the surf shop was THE hottest store at x-mas time? 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Man Uggs? « Minted Life -- Topsy.com - 01/21/2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jen young and Jennifer Magee, BHB Kidstyle. BHB Kidstyle said: RT @Artfire: Ahhhh! Man Uggs! http://cot.ag/dRB2nr These are dark days 😦 […]

Leave a comment