Woah, Photoshop

3 Jan

I know this is probably old news for most people, but I just stumbled on it so I had to share.  So, I love the Pioneer Woman as most of us do.  But, I typically stick to the food posts and don’t peruse the rest of the site often.  However, her photography is amazing to me, and she has a great way of explaining things in layman’s terms so that even I can understand all the new lingo I’m trying to learn regarding my new camera.  Well, between reading about Christmas recipes and what the heck is an aperture on her site, I stumbled on several Photoshop Actions that I love. 

I’ve dabbled in Photoshop for a while, but I would in no way call myself Photoshop savvy.  I don’t even know how to create Actions on my own (can you even do that?), but what I can do is click a button from downloaded actions I got of the PW website. 

So I started with this photograph and played around with the actions I downloaded.  I’m in love.

Original:

Seventies:

PW’s B&W

Old West:

Boost:

Colorized:

And finally one crazy one where I combined 3 ( burned edge, seventies and sharpen):

And best of all, there is a button that let’s you start all over when you mess something up, or if you just want to try something different.  I barely even scratched the surface with the options you have in front of you with this download.  So go play!  I hope you have as much fun with it as I have!

8 Responses to “Woah, Photoshop”

  1. serena @bigapplenosh 01/03/2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Super cool!

  2. cherokeebydesign 01/03/2011 at 10:16 pm #

    can’t say I have ever wanted to use any type of editing software.

    Raven

  3. jenna@fivefourteeneleven 01/03/2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Wow. I don’t even know what an action is. So I’d say you’re a pro compared to me. Good luck with Photoshop fun!

  4. Nikki 01/04/2011 at 11:02 am #

    I’ve never been to the Pioneer Woman (I’ve heard of it, just never been before). Can;t wait to check it out! Another great place for free actions (And great photography) is the CoffeeShop Blog (http://www.thecoffeeshopblog.com). She is really good. Oh and Mandy at A Sorta Fairytale (http://pandmchiappini.blogspot.com) does a few free actions too.

  5. Steph 01/04/2011 at 11:27 am #

    Yep, no idea what an action is either. Just got Photoshop Elements.. can I do actions in there too?! Because I absolutely adore the 70’s and colorized options 🙂

  6. Mina 01/04/2011 at 12:48 pm #

    how fun! after reading one of PW’s photoshop tutorials, the thought of photoshop kinda made me want to cry. can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  7. Christina 01/05/2011 at 9:24 am #

    This totally makes me wish I still had Photoshop (lost it when my last computer crashed). So fun!

Leave a comment