Love for Molly and Belle

28 Dec

I’ve talked about Molly and Belle (my doggies) several times before, but when I saw that Trupanion was doing a Pawliday blog contest, I knew that I needed to tell you a little more about them.   

We got Molly first. 

She was 3 months old when I adopted her from the shelter.  She had a fever, was underweight and had kennel cough.  When I took her to the vet, she told me that sometimes shelter dogs just don’t make it.  Although I’d had her for just 2 days, my heart broke.  I knew that my shelter dog was going to make it.  Well, fast forward 1 week and she was happy, playful and destructive, just like any new puppy. 

After several happy years with just Molly, we decided that she needed a playmate and we were yearning for a new dog too.  We were so glad that we were able to help a shelter dog the first time; we couldn’t imagine getting a dog any other way.  So once again we headed to the shelter for our next fury friend.  I found Belle at a shelter about an hour away. 

She was previously adopted.  Twice.  And returned.  Twice.  Since she was just a small puppy when she was first adopted, and the previous owners thought she got “too big” as she matured into an adult and didn’t want her anymore.  The shelter made me promise that we would just give her a happy life and not return her.  We intended to do just that. 

Phew!  Now that we got the background out of the way, time to get to the point of why my dogs’ love is the best holiday gift…

Here’s the thing, dogs love you unconditionally.  I know we all already know that, but its worth repeating.  When I come home from a long, stressful day, nothing cheers me up more than seeing my two dogs excitedly greet me at the door. But more than that, here are all the things I love about my 2 pooches:

  • That when my nieces wake up in the middle of the night with bad dreams, Molly will nudge me awake to go check on them.  And, even though it’s 3 in the morning, she’ll wake up and sit with me while I get them back to sleep.  I imagine that when we have our own kids and I’m up with late night feedings, Molly will always be right by my side even if Sean is snoring. 
  • When Belle cuddles with me like she’s a baby.  She lies on her back, closes her eyes and sits with you for as long as you’ll let her. 
  • That both Molly and Belle look at me to see if they really have to do whatever command Sean is asking them to do.  You know, like sit, stay, etc.  I’ll nod behind him to tell them that yes, they do in fact have to listen. 🙂
  • That when I’m feeling depressed and ugly my dogs give me kisses and always think I look my best.
  • When they encourage me to exercise when all I want to do is cuddle up on the couch with some cheese and wine.  They wag their tails and dance around me until I grab their leashes and head out for a walk.
  • When they stare at other dogs on the tv and cock their heads to the side as if they’re confused about what the dog is doing in that box.
  • That they can learn any trick I’m willing to teach them.  My favorite is when Molly shows me her tummy.  I think it’s her favorite too.

So, those are a few of the reasons why my dogs are the best gift I could ever receive.  I can’t imagine my life without them.  I miss them when I’m out-of-town, and look forward to seeing their happy faces when I return.

10 Responses to “Love for Molly and Belle”

  1. marasimon 12/28/2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Awww, they are such cutie pies and everything you said about why you love them is spot on! I cannot believe Belle’s previous owners, horrible!

  2. Nikki 12/28/2010 at 8:46 pm #

    What a great post!!! I love it!! Your pups are precious!! I may have to enter it too…

  3. Mina 12/29/2010 at 11:40 am #

    sweeties! that is just so cute that molly watches out for your nieces. they are such darlings–so happy and loving. i hope i get to meet them one day!

  4. Heather 12/29/2010 at 11:59 am #

    Those puppy faces are so sweet. I’m so happy to hear that Molly was a fighter and fought through those first few days. So scary!

  5. Trupanion 12/29/2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Thanks for entering the contest! Beautiful story about your pups!

  6. jenna@fivefourteeneleven 12/29/2010 at 4:33 pm #

    What sweet things you said about your darling pups 🙂 Isn’t it amazing how attached we get to our dogs? That unconditional love gets me every time.

  7. Marissa 12/30/2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Aw, your furgirls are so precious. I can’t agree more with your list. Pups have the most magical powers over us, its truly amazing how much they warm our hearts and make us smile and laugh 🙂 Happy New Years!

  8. erika 12/30/2010 at 7:07 pm #

    and you’re agoraphobic

  9. Amy 12/31/2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Awww you’re such a good doggie mom. They are such cuties!

  10. Steph 01/02/2011 at 12:34 pm #

    You’re making me want a dog (or two..) more and more!! I can’t wait until we finally get one, hopefully this year sometime. Your furbabies are such cuties!

Leave a Reply

