Animal in my Attic

19 Dec

I think we have an animal living in our attic.  And, I have no idea what kind it is or how long it’s been there.  See, normally things in our house are a little loud.  Not because we’re party animals or anything, but the tv is usually on, or Sean is playing his guitar, or the dogs are playing, so there’s always some sort of noise. 

Well, last week I was working from home because I had a big project and I knew if I went into the office I would be distracted by my co-workers or other assignments, so I needed to sequester.   While I was here, there was absolutely no noise except me typing.  That is no noise except the animal!  All of a sudden I heard this scurrying above me.  I noticed that it moved more whenever the heater came on.  Probably because it was actually cold outside and the animal was trying to get up close to the nice warm heater.  Jerk.   

In my head I started thinking about all the things it could be.  Initially my mind went to the worst things like rats and opossums.  Then I started thinking maybe it’s just a squirrel.  We do have vents on top of our house to let the summer heat out, so maybe while leaping between trees, they decided to come on in and warm up.  But even a squirrel in your attic is bad.  I mean, those little jerks can poop and tear up wires.  I have no idea what’s in my attic, but I doubt that I want squirrels or rats screwing with it. 

So, I called Sean and told him about it.  I know he hates when I do that since there is absolutely nothing he can do from his office, but still, I thought he should know about it.  He said he’d handle it when he got home.   I knew that was a lie because he would be just as scared as me to go up in the attic to confront the unknown animal.  But for some reason it made me feel better anyway. 

Well, it has now been about a week.  No one has gone up in the attic to check out the situation, but I haven’t heard anything lately.  Um…probably because things are back to normal i.e. loud, so I can’t hear it.   But I’m not sure what to do.  I don’t want set up traps and kill the little guy, but I don’t want him here either.  A co-worker told me about an audible solution for getting rid of critters, but the sound it makes can be heard by humans too, and I imagine that it would drive us and our dogs crazy.  I’m not really sure what my options are. 

Any suggestions?  Have you ever had an animal living in your attic?

13 Responses to “Animal in my Attic”

  1. Amanda 12/19/2010 at 9:00 pm #

    My parents had squirrels living in their attic for a while! The stupid things actually chewed through the wires for the fan in my old room, so when I go visit now there isn’t a working ceiling fan in my room! 😦

    Squirrels are definitely trouble-makers! I don’t know what my parents did to get rid of them, but hopefully y’all will find a solution soon! I’ll have to ask my dad if they set traps or if they went away on their own.

  2. killer b. 12/19/2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Squirrels and rodents can make big problems. They can carry diseases, pee in your insulation, chew wires, and cause all sorts of havoc. Do you have a homeowner’s policy? If so, you can call an exterminator and they’ll come out for a copay (usually around $50) and set up a livetrap for the animal. Once it’s trapped (you’ll have to check in on it, don’t want it to die on you!) they’ll come back and release the animal somewhere else. Or if you know any country folk you can just borrow a live trap from them and do it for free!

  3. Ellie 12/20/2010 at 1:29 am #

    Please take care of this!! My friend had a squirrel die in the wall once (not pretty or pretty smelling) and I’ve heard of animals dying under the floor boards. I wouldn’t let this drag on too long!

  4. Amy 12/20/2010 at 9:57 am #

    We have something too. It chewed through a garbage bag in our garage. Now I refuse to go in the garage and insist on walking around the outside of the house to get to our cars. Hubs is going to set up traps when we get back. ICK!! What if he catches something????

    • kelsey@mintedlife 12/20/2010 at 1:48 pm #

      I know! It’s so scary! At least I’m not alone. I feel gross saying I have an animal in my house, but at least it happens to other people too.

  5. Beth 12/20/2010 at 10:29 am #

    We had a squirrel in our basement that kept sneaking up into our house. It was chewing through insulation and phone wires, not to mention making a lot of strange noises!
    We rented a live trap from our local animal shelter ($10 a day). Then we put peanut butter on a cracker at the back of the cage, and the little guy walked right into it when we left the cage in the basement! Once we caught him, we just called animal services and they took him to be released down by the river in my city. Good luck!

  6. Mina 12/20/2010 at 12:00 pm #

    seeing as how i can’t do anything for myself, i would call an exterminator. i’ve heard mixed things about the noise maker–my friend used them and it actually was pretty annoying (although if yours is somewhere near the attic it might not be as bothersome). pesky squirrel!

  7. estelle 12/20/2010 at 1:44 pm #

    ah! we are having the same problem. first, it stole a whole loaf of bread. second, it ate through a pipe for our dishwasher and it made the kitchen feel like a spa with hot water everywhere. and third, it stole godiva chocolate from a candy bowl. we have tried all sorts of traps and have not caught it… and this weekend, i had a dream it was a mini manatee sliding through our attic floors. haha. it is not a manatee. we think it’s a squirrel and have not heard him for awhile. i hope you find what it is soon! if you can trap it, i suggest doing so.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 12/20/2010 at 1:49 pm #

      Ahh! So terrible! Ok, we will do something about this. I’ll keep you posted.

  8. Jessica 12/20/2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Eek! I really hope it’s a cute little critter and nothing nasty and rabid. I wish I had some recommendations for you but I don’t. 😦

  9. Amy 12/21/2010 at 9:56 pm #

    OMG. This is my worst nightmare (having any kind of critter in the house because one time I turned on the lights and saw a mouse scurrying up the wall). Yes, please call the experts ASAP. They’ll set up traps and look for the hole (and other potential holes) where it sneaked in.

Leave a Reply

