Gifts for the Office

17 Dec

I always struggle with what to get people at work.  I don’t want to spend a ton of money, but I still want to get them something cute.  And, I like to get everyone the same thing, but since there are guys and girls in my office, sometimes it’s hard to figure out a gift that everyone will like.  

Well, this year I decided to get them some mugs and mint hot chocolate.  But, I tried to get a little creative with the packaging of the hot chocolate.  I started with some clear ornaments that I washed out:

Then, dry thoroughly.  Afterwards, I started to fill them with the hot chocolate powder.  You can make your own flavored hot chocolate.  But I took the easy way out and bought some mint hot chocolate from Target.  Also, I had to improvise because I don’t have a funnel, so I rolled up some paper:

Then, I broke a piece of a mint chocolate candy cane and stuck it inside. 

I also made a cute little tag to tie on the gifts:

And, for easy transport, I stuck them inside the mug:

Ta da!  What do you get for the people at your work?

14 Responses to “Gifts for the Office”

  1. craftywife 12/17/2010 at 8:54 am #

    That’s such a great idea! I work with far too many people, so we typically don’t do anything.

  2. Abby 12/17/2010 at 9:17 am #

    These are adorable! I work in a pretty big department (~150 people) in a huge company, so we don’t usually do gift exchanges in our department…but if we did, this would be perfect!

  3. Jackie Sears 12/17/2010 at 9:52 am #

    These are adorable!!

  4. Steph 12/17/2010 at 9:59 am #

    This is SUCH a fantastic, inexpensive gift option! I need to use this in the future!

  5. Jessica 12/17/2010 at 11:19 am #

    I love your use of the clear ornament! So cute.

  6. Morgana 12/17/2010 at 11:23 am #

    They turned out awesome! I love the handmade gift tags.

  7. Nikki 12/17/2010 at 11:34 am #

    How cute!! And you packaged it so precious!! I’m not going to lie… I don’t buy things for people in my office. Mainly because 1. they dont pay my enough to purchase gifts 2. I hate my job. So yea… If I did buy things for co workers, I would do something small and cute like you did. I will say that I plan on bringing Christmas baked goodies to work on Monday.
    Oh, and please don’t think I’m a crazy Scrooge because I hate my job and don’t buy people gifts. No one buys gifts… and my job is really really bad. 🙂

  8. Mina 12/17/2010 at 11:36 am #

    what an awesome idea! and the packaging is so cute and creative! i wish i were one of your coworkers. that’s very considerate of you–my coworkers aren’t getting shit from me.

  9. Kim 12/18/2010 at 10:16 am #

    Whoa, this is impressive. Love the tags!

  10. Married in Chicago 12/19/2010 at 2:01 pm #

    This is so cute! I love how the candy cane is reminiscent of what a straw would look like – which is perfect for a chocolate milk mix!

  11. Tiffany @ MakesMeBlush 12/20/2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Brilliant! Those are so. damn. cute!!!

  12. Katie 12/23/2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Oh my gosh – I did something verrrry similar for the stocking stuffers for the hubby’s family! I didn’t use the peppermint stick; I ended up sprinkling some snowflake shaped sprinkles on top of the cocoa and it turned out cute! Love that you put yours inside mugs! Smart idea.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Truth About Gifts « Minted Life - 12/20/2010

    […] I feel like I’ve been talking a lot about presents lately, and I’m sorry.  But, it’s almost Christmas, so this will soon be over.  […]

  2. DIY 2011 Calendar « Fellow Creatives - 12/21/2010

    […] Kelsey of Minted Life posted about another great DIY holiday office gift idea, here is her How-To on making these adorable hot chocolate filled […]

Leave a Reply

