Thanksgiving

28 Nov

Wow, this is the second longest blogging break I’ve ever taken, beaten only by my honeymoon. 🙂 I had big plans for sharing all my recipes with you guys, but then I had too many things going on simultaneously so I did a really shitty job of documenting the process.  This means that you’ll get to see the recipes  in various stages of completeness.  However, I figure that no one is really looking for Thanksgiving recipes after the actual day, so it’s probably not a big deal. 

I tried out a few new recipes and some of them worked out well, and others were just ok.  I made a Cranberry Pomegranate sauce.  This was good, but I think I needed to let it cook a little longer because it wasn’t thick enough. 

And, I made some broccoli rice and cheese casserole.  This is my favorite, and it’s so ghetto.  The recipe involves cheese wiz.  And, yes, I probably could have updated it with some real cheese, but I’ve liked it for years, so why change it now?

And the sweet potatoes.  Mmmmm…with marshmallows.  Even better.  It’s just sweet potatoes, maple syrup and butter.  So simple and so delicious. 

I also did some appetizers.  I tried out some spinach and gruyere pinwheels made with puff pastry and some french onion soup stuffed mushrooms

Oh, and the pies.  I did pumpkin, my sister made pecan and chocolate and her fiance made a chess pie.  OMG, I couldn’t pick just one, so I had a sampler plate. 

Also, my brother made fun of me for decorating the table and actually complained about the “dirty acorn” I put on his napkin.  But, I still think it was worth it.  What do you think? 

Overall the weekend was great, we played some games, ate a lot of food, and to round out the weekend, we also found a dog and returned it to its owner.  (Yes, we actually found this dog running in the street and found the owners!) 

How was your Thanksgiving weekend?

7 Responses to “Thanksgiving”

  1. morgana 11/28/2010 at 11:47 pm #

    love the new table and the decor!

  2. Abby 11/29/2010 at 9:11 am #

    I made the exact same recipe for cranberry sauce, and mine came out a tad runny/thin, too. I think it might have something to do with the pomegranate juice? Anyway — the rest of your recipes look delish…and your table looks fab!

  3. Jackie Sears 11/29/2010 at 10:52 am #

    I was the special “Mom” guest and can attest to the fact that everything was delicious and beautiful!!

  4. Mina 11/29/2010 at 10:56 am #

    looks like it was a feast! i’m intrigued by your ghetto casserole–no shame in using cheez wiz! and what cute place settings! hooray on hosting an awesome thanksgiving!

  5. Amy 11/29/2010 at 11:45 am #

    oh that pie bar looks delish. And the spinach gruyere pinwheels! also ove how the new chair looks at the head of the table!

  6. Jessica 11/29/2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Oh my, delicious pie!

    You can’t go wrong with a broccoli and cheese classic like that. Mmm! And I like the acorns, no matter what your bro says. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ornaments « Minted Life - 12/13/2010

    […] Remember those guys from Thanksgiving? […]

Leave a Reply

