Homie Said What?

16 Nov

So a couple of months ago I went to my doctor for a check up.  I took the opportunity to talk about preparing to go off the pill and to ask about what I needed to do to be sure my body was good and healthy for when we wanted to try to have a baby.  He muttered something about prenatal vitamins, vaccines, checking for immunity to german measles, the dentist and a high protein diet.  High protein?  Um…I’m vegetarian. 

Not that I don’t get a fair amount of protein, but I wouldn’t call what I have a high protein diet.  So, I asked him what he considered high protein and what special considerations I needed to make since I was a vegetarian.  You want to know what his first comment was?  “You might want to rethink that whole vegetarian thing.”  Now, if this was my friend, or just a casual conversation with a coworker I would have blown it off, but this was my mother effing doctor.  Rethink my non-dangerous lifestyle? I thought it was pretty crappy.  But instead of getting angry, I asked him again what high protein meant.  He said 50 grams a day. And then he asked me if I ate things like tofu, eggs, and beans.  Yes, yes and yes.  So he changed his story and said, “Well,  if you’re eating things like that, you should be totally fine.”  What did he think I was doing?  Chowing down on just lettuce every meal?  Clearly he should have asked me these questions before jumping to conclusions. 

I was just turned off by the whole thing, and I grew increasingly more annoyed as the day went on, which of course meant that I was no longer in his office to say anything.  I’m not planning on switching doctors, but hopefully he’ll be more thoughtful next time.

12 Responses to “Homie Said What?”

  1. serena @bigapplenosh 11/16/2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Boo, not cool! He needs to brush up on his bedside manner. Hope he improves next visit.

  2. jenna@fivefourteeneleven 11/16/2010 at 10:42 pm #

    What an awful thing to say! Good thing you kept your cool, know I would have exchanged a few words with him had that been me.

  3. Terri 11/17/2010 at 7:33 am #

    Well that was odd. Although I have been straying lately from my veg/pescetarian ways, I still cook primarily vegetarian at home. Tofu, beans, tempeh, etc. have just as much protein as meat and are low fat. Maybe he was having a bad day? I have to admit I am not a huge fan of doctors. I love my general practitioner, but he doesn’t really address the lady parts stuff so I need find one of those. The last one I went to was awful. I couldn’t stand her and didn’t go back. I’m often amazed at the lack of bedside manner.

  4. Abby 11/17/2010 at 8:51 am #

    I can’t believe he said that! I’ve found that in general, my GP isn’t as helpful with my “lady” stuff as my OBGYN, but even my OBGYN has a tendency to make me feel like I’m being rushed if I have more than 2 questions about something. I hope that your doctor is better at your next visit!

  5. Nikki 11/17/2010 at 10:30 am #

    I can’t believe your doctor said that to you!! He would really hate me. I’m not a vegetarian, but I vary rarely eat meat (I also don’t eat tofu). I just prefer my veggies. Your doctor would be super mean to me! Maybe you should discuss it with your OB. I would think they would be more knowledgeable and helpful.

  6. Mina 11/17/2010 at 11:21 am #

    fucker.

  7. Mina 11/17/2010 at 11:21 am #

    sorry, that was my reflex reaction. i meant, that is a very uneducated, close-minded thing for your doctor to say. sorry you can delete that previous comment.

  8. Meghan 11/17/2010 at 11:35 am #

    Maybe you should think about changing doctors. One thing I’ve learned with a parent who is a physician is, if a doctor doesn’t listen, then they probably don’t do good practice. Soon after I got married I went to my OB and she insisted I get the HPV even though the only people both of us had ever been with was each other. I didn’t need it and she didn’t listen when I tried to tell her so. Luckily I was out of the age range for my insurance, but it still could have ended badly.

    I would say that if your OB is still not listening to your requests and not asking questions that this may not be the best doctor when it comes to having kids; They may not listen to your requests in regards to your birthing plan, and that’s a big deal.

  9. Jessica 11/17/2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Like Mina, my first thought was what a DOUCHEBAG. It sounds like he started to backtrack his statement, when he should have asked questions about your protein sources beforehand. Not stating you NEED to eat meat.

  10. bluebutterfly10 11/17/2010 at 2:15 pm #

    A lot of doctors and nutritionists are always wary of vegetarian diets for young people because a lot of young people become vegetarians and don’t do it right. It was a bad assumption on his part that you were one of those people. Not cool!

  11. Daph 11/17/2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Ugh, I have to agree with Mina. I’m also a vegetarian and people like that are so annoying. I mean, I don’t go around critiquing what you eat! End rant. 🙂

Leave a Reply

