New Obsession: Silver Spray Paint

7 Nov

So, this weekend I had a super bargain weekend, which spurred me to look at some of the things I already had around my house and figure out how I might repurpose them.  I tend to get tired of things easily and often buy new things (like clothes), so I’m trying to avoid that with housewares and furniture.  Well, I had this piece of um…artwork, I guess?  But, I was tired of it and ready to put it in the garage or hide it in a guest room that I never go in because I was tired of looking at it, and it didn’t really go with the rest of my stuff.   

I bought it at Target about 3 years ago and it just lost its interest.  But, I thought with a fresh coat of spray paint, I’d probably like it again.  So I picked up some metallic silver spray paint.

It’s a little pricier than the others, but at $5 a can, it was still worth it.  So, I pulled out a tarp and got to work:

I quickly realized that it wasn’t even going to take a full can, so I grabbed some black picture frames I had and sprayed those too:

This spray paint dried so fast too.  This is great for me because I have zero patience when it comes to crafts.  I always enjoy starting them, but if it’s something that takes a long time, I lose interest fast.  The whole project took about an hour and a half, and that included full drying time. 

Here it is all finished:

 

And, a little perspective on where it sits in our house:

I’ll tell you all about that hutch in the picture tomorrow.  It was one of my weekend finds and I have big plans for it!

16 Responses to “New Obsession: Silver Spray Paint”

  1. Andnowlights (Kristen) 11/07/2010 at 9:23 pm #

    I so massively fail at spray-painting, but I keep seeing this silver spray paint EVERYWHERE. So tempted to try it!

  2. Kate 11/07/2010 at 9:31 pm #

    What a great, easy way to reinvent something! If only I had ANY patience to do such a thing 🙂

  3. Jessica 11/07/2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Wow, it looks awesome. I would have never thought to use a metallic spray paint!

  4. Chelsey / Gloss 11/08/2010 at 8:13 am #

    Loving the lines of your new sideboard!

  5. Abby 11/08/2010 at 9:39 am #

    Oooh, I love it! 🙂 Simple and quick projet, but it has a ton of impact!

  6. Jackie Sears 11/08/2010 at 9:40 am #

    The silver paint is great and I love the hutch – very 60’s Danish looking.

  7. lbrookeburnett 11/08/2010 at 11:04 am #

    I love the transformation. And I have to ask, where is that adorable cake plate from? I’ve been dying for a ruffled-edge cake plate for years!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 11/08/2010 at 11:14 am #

      I was lusting after that cake stand for MONTHS! It’s potluck studios, and I think it’s discontinued. But, I heard that Costco has a twin. So, I’d look there.

  8. serena @bigapplenosh 11/08/2010 at 11:05 am #

    I love the finished look!

  9. morgana 11/08/2010 at 12:11 pm #

    so cute, nice color choice! this is why I love spray paint.

  10. Mina 11/08/2010 at 12:15 pm #

    wow, it’s amazing what some spray paint can do! it looks really great, and i can’t wait to hear about the hutch!

  11. Nikki 11/08/2010 at 2:49 pm #

    That looks fantastic!! I love it!!

  12. Amy 11/08/2010 at 5:07 pm #

    pretty! you are so crafty. The hutch also caught my eye so I can’t wait to hear about it!

  13. erika 11/09/2010 at 6:23 pm #

    kels…a suggestion, just from my gay friends since i have no decorating sense…i’d hang that lower, just above the hutch, it would look really cute and would be an even better backdrop to the glasses, cake stand, etc. that you have on there. that’s how brian and chad hang their paintings and i always think it looks great even though i’d never think to do it on my own!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Garage Sale « Minted Life - 11/08/2010

    […] I was bragging about my bargain weekend yesterday, but what I didn’t tell you is where I found everything.  Well, a local non-profit […]

  2. Frame Wall « Minted Life - 11/10/2010

    […] Nov So after spray painting the last piece, I decided that it looked better in the dining room then in our entryway where it used to it.  […]

Leave a Reply

