Dining Inspiration

3 Nov

Tomorrow I’m getting a dining table that I’ve only seen a dimly lit photo of while it was upside down in a storage shed.  Why?  Well, it’s free, and it will be delivered to my house.  What I did notice about it in the photo was that it had intricate legs and is the perfect shade, so I know I can make it work.  I’ve been lusting after a farmhouse table, and it’s not exactly that, but I think the chairs that I pick to go with it can make a huge difference. 

My latest dining obsession is the use of a bench.  But, probably not what you’re thinking of.  I don’t love the traditional backless benches because I don’t think they’re very comfortable.   I would love to have something like this on one side:

But, picture it with a pretty fabric seating cushion.  Then, for the remaining seats, I want these type of chairs, each with a different fabric for the seat:

Source

I tried to find a complete look to show you what I’m going for, but I had a really hard time finding pictures!  The best I could do is a picture I already showed you in a previous post, but it works here too:

Source

Sean thinks that the bench is a bad idea because people will have a hard time getting in and out.  I argued that we don’t have people over for dinner all that often, so if twice a year, someone has to say “excuse me” while they push their bench back, I think that’s ok.  Not to mention, I didn’t envision seating strangers there together, so I don’t think it would be a big deal.  What do you think?

13 Responses to “Dining Inspiration”

  1. lbrookeburnett 11/03/2010 at 9:30 pm #

    I have the 1 bench 4 chairs setup, with the Farmhouse Table I built from Ana-White.com’s plans. You can check it here, http://killerbdesign.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/nearly-complete/ . And you know what? That bench is my favorite place to sit at the table 🙂

  2. Laura McFarlane 11/04/2010 at 12:41 am #

    love it! I say go for it.

  3. N. 11/04/2010 at 3:23 am #

    Recently I purchased backless benches that I upholstered. I thought that without the back, it would be easier for people to get in and out, but it doesn’t make a difference, they still push the bench back. It doesn’t seem to bother our guests though…

  4. Abby G. 11/04/2010 at 7:46 am #

    LOVE the bench idea. In fact, if I could change our current dining room set (which is pretty basic, but functional I guess) I would do a dining room table with un-matched chairs and a bench, and a gigantic drum shade light fixture over the table. Can’t wait to see what your table looks like!

  5. Chelsey / Gloss 11/04/2010 at 7:47 am #

    I’ve been on the search for a farmhouse table as well – can’t wait to see what you found!

  6. Jackie Sears 11/04/2010 at 8:36 am #

    I think that the bench is great and that everyone will be cooperative.

  7. Nikki 11/04/2010 at 9:36 am #

    I love the bench look!! Go for it!!!

  8. Terri (Swan) 11/04/2010 at 10:04 am #

    One of the sd things about living in an apartment is the lack of a real dining room. Not like we’d use it all that often, but I would LOVE to have one. I love the bench idea. I’m excited to see what you end up getting.

  9. Jessica 11/04/2010 at 10:45 am #

    I like the bench! And if you’re having a dinner party, it’s most likely all friends so they shouldn’t mind. I think it’s cozy.

  10. bohemianbailie 11/04/2010 at 12:35 pm #

    The bench is a very big thing in my family so I am all for it. My great-grandma had an l shaped bench and the seats lifted up and she would store crayons in there which was genious. Then my grandm made a built in bench for her table and it is still my favorite place to sit in her house. The my mom bought one and her table is oval and it works perfect and is backless which is not a problem. Also what is great is that instead of just fitting one or two if need be you can really cram in there.

  11. Mina 11/04/2010 at 2:00 pm #

    ooh what a great idea! can’t wait to see the table. i think you’ll love the bench. if it’s really a concern about guests sitting together on the bench, perhaps for guests you could bring out tables and put the bench in the “chitchat” are for more seating.

  12. Nikki 11/04/2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Second comment of the day! I passed the versatile blogger award on to you…

    http://thefashionablewife.blogspot.com/2010/11/giveaways-galore-and-more.html

  13. Amy 11/05/2010 at 9:26 am #

    I love the bench! Yes, perhaps you have an uncomfortable guest here and there but it’s no biggie. The combo w/the farmhouse table is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

