Secret, Secret

26 Oct

Ok, so they aren’t really secrets, but my good friend, Mina from Fresh Brioche asked me to share 7 things you probably don’t know about me. 

  1. I know that ankle socks are the cooler thing to wear now, but whenever I wear sneakers (which I used to call tennies), I like to wear 70’s roller girl style socks.  Sean makes fun of me every time, but I think ankle socks make me look like I have cankles, so I don’t wear them.
  2. Driving sometimes gives me panic attacks (not full-blown, but mini).  I had a tire blow out on the highway one time, and from that point on I’ve been scared to drive on the highway for long distances.  I bought a Volvo to help counteract my fears because it is very safe, but I still have moments where I freak out. 
  3. I have a really good memory.  I worked in a Psychology Ph.D. program right after college, and the students often asked me how I store things in my brain because they wanted to understand how I was able to remember them.   I wasn’t really sure how to answer that because I don’t know how other people store memories, so I wasn’t sure what I was doing differently.  I’m still not sure.
  4. I am a very light sleeper.  When I initially lay down, I can fall asleep so easily, but I can’t ever stay asleep.  If there is even the slightest sound, I’ll wake up and then I can never fall back asleep.
  5. I love animals.  I check Craigslist all the time for new pets we can adopt, and I often show pictures to Sean of cute new critters we should get.  They range from prairie dogs to cats to pot belly pigs.  Sadly, Sean always says no. 
  6. In high school, we decided that we should make over a girl (similar to what Cher did for Tai in Clueless) and we even picked a girl.  However, my boyfriend at the time convinced me that not everyone wanted to be our friend or dress like us, and that we were jerks for thinking that we were so awesome.  We didn’t make her over, or even approach her to see if she wanted to be made over.
  7. I became a vegetarian because I went to a chicken processing plant in graduate school for a class.  The point was not to become vegetarians, it was to learn about how our food was processed.  After I witnessed that though, I was horrified and unable to eat meat.  It’s been nearly 5 years now. 

I think I’m supposed to ask other people to do this, but instead I’m going to break the chain.  Let’s be honest, this isn’t the first time I broke something like a chain letter before.  So I guess an 8th point is that I’m not superstitious.

4 Responses to “Secret, Secret”

  1. serena @bigapplenosh 10/26/2010 at 9:11 pm #

    I loved learning these facts about you! I’m afraid I might have to break my chain of tags as well – more out of laziness than lack of superstition 🙂

  2. Mina 10/26/2010 at 9:43 pm #

    yay! i loved learning these things about you, but yes, thanks for breaking the chain. i think that’s so cute that you find all these adoptable pets. i don’t know what sean is thinking.

  3. Kate 10/26/2010 at 10:00 pm #

    How fun to learn these things about you! I laughed SO hard that you were going to make someone over Cher style. “I could really use some herbal refreshment…” “Well, it’s almost lunch time, and we don’t have tea but we have coke and stuff…” 🙂

  4. Jessica 10/27/2010 at 11:29 am #

    I’m with you on the driving thing. Sometimes I’m IN my car and start thinking “what if I accidentally drove off the side of this mountain!?”

    Who thinks like that? Me apparently…

    I love the idea of you giving someone a makeover. While reading, I secretly hoped that you had given someone a makeover and had pictures haha!

Leave a Reply

