Holiday Time

25 Oct

Guess who put on her big girl pants?  Um…me!  Why you ask?  Well, I’m going to host Thanksgiving at our house for the first time ever.   I’d mentioned this to my mom a couple of weeks ago, and I wasn’t sure if anyone was really going to take me up on this.  See, I live in Austin while my mom, brother, sister and nieces all live in Dallas.  Typically Sean and I make our way up there for each holiday event.  But, we are newlyweds with a semi-new house and I would love to be able to put some of my registry gifts to use by hosting things here.  Looks like I’m going to get my chance. 

My mom always does the turkey (and, I don’t eat it because I’m a vegetarian), but my favorite part has always been the sides.  One of my most favorite sides ever is Truffle Mac and Cheese.

Source

My favorite truffle mac and cheese recipe is this one by Ina Garten.  Only, I can’t ever find truffle butter, so I substitute truffle oil. 

I also love broccoli, rice and cheese casserole.

Source

Um…clearly I’m going to need a little more than cheese and then more cheese.  Luckily, my Real Simple magazine and Martha Stewart Food magazine had a lot of great ideas this month including a killer mashed potato recipe and at least 8 different ways to do stuffing.  Yum.  What are your favorite recipes?  And, any tips for a first time Thanksgiving host?

11 Responses to “Holiday Time”

  1. Jackie Sears 10/25/2010 at 10:00 pm #

    We’re looking forward to it. Know it will be yummy!

  2. Amy 10/26/2010 at 7:55 am #

    Oh fun! Hosting thanksgiving sounds scary (especially in my tiny ass apt) but you’re going to have a great time! I am loving the truffle mac and cheese! My sisters and I are in charge of sides and I need some new ideas for my parents house 🙂

  3. Mina 10/26/2010 at 8:27 am #

    how exciting–hosting your first thanksgiving! i think that’s an awesome idea. those dishes look amazing–may have to try the truffle mac n cheese.

  4. Abby 10/26/2010 at 9:16 am #

    That mac & cheese looks amazing! As for recipes, pretty much everything I’ve ever made out of MSL has come out great. Although sometimes her recipes can be a tad putzy, I think it’s worth it in the end. Good luck — you’ll do great!

  5. Terri (Swan) 10/26/2010 at 9:23 am #

    I’m going to be hosting Thanksgiving too! The scary part is that I am going to be making the turkey! I’m going to start thinking about it this weekend since it’s coming up in three weeks!! Good luck! I’d love to see how it all turns out!

  6. serena @bigapplenosh 10/26/2010 at 10:44 am #

    YUM! Got any truffle mac&cheese leftovers, feel free to send them my way 😉

  7. Jessica 10/26/2010 at 10:45 am #

    Mmmm. Carbs and cheese. Sound like my kind of Thanksgiving. 😀

  8. Marissa 10/26/2010 at 12:50 pm #

    YAY – Hosting your first holiday as Mr & Mrs, fun fun fun!!! My tips of advice are..If you can prepare things the night/day before then pop’em into the oven on T-Day that’ll help a lot. And if a guests offers to bring something, allow them – – its Thanksgiving, and, on this holiday there is always room for more LOL Thanksgiving has the best left overs, mmmmmmm

  9. Cathleya 10/26/2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Love this simple Grand Marnier Cranberry sauce recipe:
    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Grand-Marnier-Cranberry-Sauce-497

    (I use 1 orange+1 tbsp orange zest in lieu of frozen orange juice concentrate)

    It’s the only recipe that doesn’t “rotate out” of my thanksgiving repertoire… 🙂 Easy, day before prep, delicious!

  10. shelikesruffles 10/28/2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Oh wow – BRAVE girl! I get into a panic just thinking about hosting Thanksgiving!!!! Truffle mac n cheese sounds delish – good luck my dear!

  11. Megan 11/03/2010 at 8:45 pm #

    That mac n’cheese looks fantastic. And, if you have a Williams Sonoma near you they sell truffle butter, its a staple on their pantry shelves and so delish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

