Jewelry Overload

18 Oct

I really love accessorizing, but I fall into ruts where I find myself picking up the same necklace, bracelet or earrings because they’re in plain sight.  But, I realized that I’m missing out on so many of my great pieces because of laziness.  Or worse, I buy something very similar to what I already have because I forget I had it.  Clearly, something needed to change.  Well, fortunately, I live in a place with large closets with lots of extra storage space (please don’t hate me).   I had a set of drawers that I wasn’t using to their full potential, so I changed that.

Do you see that??  Three whole drawers just for jewelry!!

So I organized my necklaces:

And, another drawer for my bracelets (and a few more necklaces)

And, then I figured my earrings and rings needed something a little different.   This means I still have an entire drawer left to fill with jewelry.

My earrings and rings sit comfortably in a jewelry box Sean got me last year for my birthday. 

Here’s a little peek inside:

Actually, the jewelry box is kind of a funny story.  Sean and I went shopping for an engagement ring in January and my birthday was in February.  He kept saying that he thought I was really going to like my present.  He never says that.  Buying presents for me always makes him nervous.  So I was like, “Sweet!  I’m totally getting engaged!!”  Then Sean walks in with this big box for me to open.  I was thinking it was a little abnormal for an engagement ring, but thought maybe he was just trying to throw me off.  Then I picked it up, and it was kind of heavy.  Still not discouraged, I tore into the box.  It was a jewelry box, how fitting!  I thought I was going to open it up and see a little ring inside.  So, I flipped open the box, opened all the drawers and there was nothing.  I loved the present, but I felt so awful because I’d created this big build up for myself, and then there was no engagement ring.  I could tell Sean was expecting a much different reaction, and had I opened this present at any other moment, I’m sure I would have been ecstatic.  Damn that engagement ring build up!

So how do you keep your jewely organized?

9 Responses to “Jewelry Overload”

  1. serena @bigapplenosh 10/18/2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Love the layout – looks very Banana Republic! 🙂

  2. Mina 10/18/2010 at 9:35 pm #

    ooh you have so much fun stuff! my main reason i get in a rut is that i just don’t have much. must expand. immediately. i have kelsey to live up to!

  3. littleacceb 10/19/2010 at 2:47 am #

    That’s so nicely organised! I have a small hatbox full, and because it’s such a jumble, I rarely wear anything except for my wedding and engagement rings.

  4. Mara 10/19/2010 at 5:45 am #

    Wow, you DO have a lot of fab jewelry, now I wanna expand my accessory collection immediately!

  5. Jessica 10/19/2010 at 8:39 am #

    You’re jewelry collection far surpasses mine! I would love to have some of those pieces.

  6. Daph 10/19/2010 at 10:58 am #

    Love that! My main thing is earrings, so I have them all hanging on a little rack.. 🙂

  7. Nikki 10/19/2010 at 11:20 am #

    I am so impressed with your jewelry set up!! I wish I had room like that (I am totally jealous that you live somewhere with lots of storage space!!). I have a large closet and a large pantry, but that is the extent of my storage. I keep my necklaces hanging on a bulletin board I made, and I have my bracelets, etc. sitting on my dresser.

  8. Amy 10/19/2010 at 4:03 pm #

    I mostly enjoyed eyeing your jewelry selection. 😛 I agree though! If it’s not in front of me, I won’t think to wear it. Great job organizing!

  9. found not lost 11/10/2010 at 12:39 am #

    Love your collection and also the engagement ring story, that is classic!
    I had another suggestion for you to maximize your drawers, since they look deep and maybe you could double stack as your collection expands. I use and love the tweed and silk drawer organizers from the container store, perfect for jewelry, scarves, tights, accessories!
    http://www.containerstore.com/shop/closet/drawerOrganizers

Leave a Reply

