Plasti-Dip

17 Oct

So, remember when I talked about our craft club?    Well, about a month ago we had our first one and the craft was plasti-dip.  We named our group Fellow Creatives.

We started off with important things, like an amazing spread of food:

I swear I didn’t think it was possible to finish all this yummy food, but we managed to nearly complete the task.  Guess that just means it was that delicious.

Each person brought a few things they were interested in dipping.  I brought these guys:

Those of you that followed me from Weddingbee, probably recognize a few of those things from my wedding.   I decided to start with the things that were pretty easy to replace in case I didn’t like the way they looked.  Which meant that the animal figurines I found at the dollar store were up first.  I made a little wire holder to help with the dipping process and down they went:

Here’s the thing about Plasti-dip…it’s SUPER toxic.  And it smells that way.  It smelled like paint thinner, only stronger.  And, nature wasn’t on our side.  Though the day had been beautiful, I noticed that as I was on my way to craft club, the clouds were building.  My friend set up a spot for us in the backyard, but it was uncovered, so clearly that wasn’t going to work.  We had to relocate to the front porch, and the humidity in the air didn’t help with the drying time.  But we hung them out to dry anyway:

While they were drying, we engaged in some good conversation, yummy food and delicious drinks.  I think the host, Morgana and I were probably the most interested in this craft.

But, everyone made something.  Here they all are:

And, here’s a close up of the 2 things I made:

So, the verdict?  Plasti-dip stuff turned out really cute, but it’s messy and a huge pain in the ass.  I expected it to be a really easy craft and that just wasn’t true.  However, I think without the rain it would have been a lot easier.   Oh, and if you’re wondering if I all of a sudden got really good at taking pictures, I didn’t.  Morgana’s husband was behind the lens.  Thanks, Gerren! 🙂

6 Responses to “Plasti-Dip”

  1. littleacceb 10/18/2010 at 3:35 am #

    That stuff is so interesting! What is the texture like once it dries – smooth or matt? Do you paint it afterwards?

    • kelsey@mintedlife 10/18/2010 at 9:03 am #

      It’s rubber. It’s traditionally used for tools, to make the rubber handles. And yes, you can paint it, but you can also add powder stuff to make your plasti-dip any color you want. And, it comes in several colors without the powder. I’ve seen red, black, yellow and white, but I’m sure there are other colors too.

  2. serena @bigapplenosh 10/18/2010 at 8:55 am #

    Looks like fun! I wish I had a craft party to attend. I’d lead one if I weren’t so ridiculously un-crafty 🙂

  3. Jessica 10/18/2010 at 10:04 am #

    What a great idea to get crafty peeps together. I’m sorry the weather was stinky but at least you had some great company!

  4. Mina 10/18/2010 at 9:37 pm #

    i’m glad you all soldiered through despite the weather, with such good results. that’s too bad that the plastidip is so toxic, though. poo.

  5. Amy 10/19/2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Yuck on the bad smells! I’m impressed how this dip makes your stuff look so new and smooth.

Leave a Reply

