Gift Guide

12 Oct

So, I’m not one of those people that shop all year for Christmas presents so that by the time December rolls around, I only have a few things to get.  Nope.  You’ll find me scouring the internet and paying for overnight shipping to get my gifts in on time.   It’s not even that I don’t have ideas of what to get people.  I think the problem actually is that I have too many ideas and can’t decide.

Usually I peruse magazines and the internet for gift ideas, but I often find myself discouraged by what’s in the magazines because they are WAY out of my price range.  Now, I don’t know what Christmas looks like at other people’s house, but at my house, we don’t spend $300 or more per person on gifts.

But, for those of you that need some ideas (most of them reasonable), Lonny Magazine has some great suggestions (p.s. why is Lonny magazine is everywhere now?  And where the hell have I been that I just found out about it a week ago?).

Of course I love the Etsy suggestions:

My favorite of the Etsy finds is the bowl and the necklace.  The bowl is from seller Etco and the necklace is from Orit Hadad.  Yes, the necklace is a little steep, but the rest of her jewelry is so reasonably priced, and absolutely gorgeous!

And, here are some suggestions for the Artsy person in your life.

I am in LOVE with that camera.  I’m not sure how great the pictures would be, but it’s adorable.  And, did you see that iPhone case?  Love it.

And for the Eco friend of yours…

I’m loving the Vegan purse, and the Moccasins.

And, for the French-loving, girly girl:

This page, I’m liking a lot of the non-budget friendly pieces, like the scarf, sparkly purse and vase.  Sigh…

Which are your favorites?

11 Responses to “Gift Guide”

  1. Mrs pretzel 10/12/2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Love the etsy finds! The diana camera takes dreamy low fi photos. Google diana camera and you will see lots of great examples. Mr P and I love our diana.

  2. Jenny Hughes 10/12/2010 at 11:26 pm #

    OMG! Lonny is my new favorite! So sorry you just now discovered it. It helps me not miss Domino Magazine (RIP) as much.

  3. N. 10/13/2010 at 3:55 am #

    I love the etsy necklace and the green eco pillow…I can’t believe Christmas is already round the corner!

  4. Jessica 10/13/2010 at 9:14 am #

    I would not have classified myself as the “french loving girly girl” but I’m loving everything on that page! Hahaha

  5. Nikki 10/13/2010 at 9:40 am #

    I just discovered Lonny yesterday (literally, yesterday)!! I love it! I was totally going to post about this awesome magazine I found, until I realized everyone else already knew about it. I love the tray with the initials. I love everything in the gift guide and the whole magazine!! PS: Tagged you on my blog for something. 🙂

  6. Mina 10/13/2010 at 10:25 am #

    i’m totally like you with the last minute overnight shipping–ouch. but what great ideas! i’m going to try and go big on etsy this year–we’ve been having a love affair recently. oh, and i haven’t heard of lonny, so i’m really out of it, and thank you for giving me the heads-up!

  7. Abby 10/13/2010 at 12:52 pm #

    I also just found out about Lonny…so I feel a little out of the loop! 🙂 I love everything in the “je ne sais quoi” board–they’re all such lovely gifts!

  8. Jenny H 10/13/2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Oh, one more new find to add to the list of great interior design! http://www.adoremagazine.com/

  9. Amy 10/14/2010 at 11:15 am #

    Oh no. Is it time to start xmas shopping already? love these finds btw. Easier than searcing Etsy all night long.

Leave a Reply

