Pumpkin Carving

11 Oct

I’m done with the Debbie Downer posts for a while and ready to start talking about pretty things again.

As you might remember, Sean and I have a pumpkin carving contest every year.  This past weekend when we were at the grocery store, I noticed that a lot of the pumpkins were already out and ready for purchase.  I know if we buy and carve them now, they’ll never make it to Halloween, but it doesn’t mean that I wasn’t tempted.  And, they were only $5, so I almost wanted to get one just to have a “practice pumpkin” before the real contest.  But, I figured Sean wouldn’t appreciate me cheating, so I didn’t get one.

Anyway, to make sure I win this year, I’ve been scoping out some inspiration.  Here’s the latest I found from Sunset:

Each of them comes with tips and tricks about how to do them.  I think my favorite is the “Treat” one, especially because it projects the word “Trick” on the other side onto your wall.  Find out how here. And, the haunt one comes with it’s very own stencil.  I’m pretty sure I’ll win this year.

So, which one is your favorite?

 

9 Responses to “Pumpkin Carving”

  1. serena @bigapplenosh 10/11/2010 at 9:20 pm #

    These are so cool – a huge step up from my traditional triangle-face jack-o-lantern!

  2. Jessica 10/12/2010 at 7:51 am #

    It’s a toss up between the haunt pumpkin and the trick/treat. I love the idea of it projecting on the wall! I’d never seen one like that. You’re so going to win.

  3. Amy 10/12/2010 at 8:25 am #

    At Michael’s this past weekend, they had fake pumpkins with the families name carved in them, ie. The Bailey’s. It was adorable! I am totally going attempt to carve our names in 🙂 That would be cute for a first year married pumpkin!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 10/12/2010 at 2:47 pm #

      That’s adorable!! Take pictures and let me see how it turns out!

  4. Nikki 10/12/2010 at 9:22 am #

    I LOVE the Treat one!! So cute!! I don’t know if I could carve anything into a pumpkin… I’m thinking about painting something on one so I don’t completely destroy it. Got any expert carving tips?

    • kelsey@mintedlife 10/12/2010 at 2:48 pm #

      Oh Nikki, I wish I did, but unfortunately I’ve lost our pumpking carving contests the last 3 years. But this is the year! I think maybe the trick is having the right tools. Using steak knives was probably my mistake.

  5. Mina 10/12/2010 at 12:30 pm #

    this is way more cool than me drawing on a pumpkin with a sharpie. i LOVE the white pumpkins, although that’s partly just because i have a think for white pumpkins this year. they’re all totally amazing. don’t hurt yourself.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 10/12/2010 at 2:48 pm #

      You know me too well!! I’m totally going to write a post about how I had to get stitches after our pumpking carving contest. Just wait…

  6. Amy 10/12/2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Oh the etchings are cool! I saw a show once where they went out of the way to be creative and carved a funny shaped gourd with the root as the hair instead of a pumpkin (which i think is also a gourd??).

Leave a Reply

