Anniversaries

10 Oct

Today is the anniversary of the day my dad died.  October 10th.  I still remember exactly how I found out.  My mom was at the hospital, which wasn’t all that abnormal since my dad had been sick for a while.  We’d been pulled out of school several times because his doctor indicated to my mom that it was likely going to be his last day.  We’d go to the hospital, and he always made it through.  I started to think that the doctors were stupid and that regardless of what they said, my dad was going to make it.  This day; however, my mom didn’t have to go get us from our classrooms because it was a weekend.  She walked in the living room and called us all together.  She sat us down on the couch and said, “Daddy’s in heaven now.”  We immediately started to cry, but none of us really knew what to do with ourselves.  After a while we went to our bedrooms to process everything we’d just heard, and my brother chose to do it by writing.  He was only 10.  Here’s an adaptation of what he wrote:

My Favorite Man

I have a favorite man, that man is my daddy.   I have known him for ten years now.  He is my best friend.  We have done many things together, like going to Mississippi, Michigan, Louisiana, and Washington D.C.

Unfortunately, he got sick one day and had to go to the hospital.  After that, he had to go at least five more times.  But, this one time is a time I will never forget.  It all started on Tuesday.  That night he was moaning and groaning, but I figured it was nothing because he had done it for weeks now.  When I woke up that morning, my aunt and uncle had come in from out of town and decided to take him to the hospital. So I got ready and went to school.

After P.E. my mom came to pick me up, it was only 9:45, what was she doing here?  She told me that they were going to give my dad a medicine that would make him very sleepy.  My sister, Kelsey, had already been picked up from school.  We went to go pick up my other sister, Erika, then we headed for the hospital.  My dad was awake, but a few minutes later he fell asleep. 

About a day or two later my dad started getting confused, he would mix up everything.  It wasn’t very long after that he stopped talking altogether.  A couple of days later he went into a coma.  By this time, I was starting to get really worried.  A couple of days later I was at a friend’s house and my mom picked me up.  When we got home she wanted us in the living room.  We gathered around, and words I will never forget came out of her mouth, she said, “Daddy’s in heaven now.” We all cried for a long time.  I will never forget this, never.  This is the day my favorite man died.

 

15 Responses to “Anniversaries”

  1. Expressmom 10/10/2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Sending you a hug. (HUG ENCLOSED HERE)

  2. brooke @ claremont road 10/10/2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Sending you and your family a hug today, Kelsey. xoxoxo. That made me cry.

  3. Chelsey 10/10/2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Hugs. So sorry for your loss –

  4. Cathleya 10/10/2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Such big words from a little man. Thinking of you today, Kels.

  5. Becca 10/11/2010 at 2:49 am #

    Bless you for sharing this. Love to you and your family today. xx

  6. Jessica 10/11/2010 at 9:06 am #

    I’ll be thinking of you and your family today. 😦

    It’s amazing that those words came from someone so young.

  7. Abby 10/11/2010 at 9:11 am #

    Kelsey, I’ll be thinking of you and your family today — sending you lots of hugs.

  8. Amy 10/11/2010 at 9:54 am #

    Thinking of you and your family. Lots of hugs.

  9. Mina 10/11/2010 at 10:44 am #

    oh sweetie, what a terrible thing to go through. all my love and hugs to you and your family.

  10. serena @bigapplenosh 10/11/2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Keeping you and your family in my thoughts. (HUGS)

  11. Jaime Straus 10/11/2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Aw, Kelsey, that just broke my heart.

  12. kelsey@mintedlife 10/11/2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! All of your kind words really meant a lot. I appreciate it.

  13. shelikesruffles 10/11/2010 at 6:58 pm #

    I know I’m a day late, but big big hugs going out to you. Your brother’s writing made me tear up. 😦

  14. Sally 10/12/2010 at 10:04 am #

    Keeping your family in my thoughts all week. Anniversaries like this are never easy no matter how many years it has been.

  15. Jackie Sears 10/18/2010 at 7:45 pm #

    This is really lovely, Kels. Sometimes it seems that those days happened such a long time ago and in a way they did – 17 years. All of you have grown into such wonderful human beings and although those days were horribly difficult and I hope that none of us ever has to go through anything like that again in our lives, I feel that the end result contributed to who each of you has become. I know that your dad would be very proud of all of you and I suspect that he keeps up with each of you.

    I love you.

Leave a Reply

