Coat Rack for the New Yorkers (or other small space dwellers)

4 Oct

So, I’ve never lived in New York, but I did live in Boston.  It should be illegal to charge what I paid for the 300 square foot shoebox I called home during my junior and senior year of college.  I did live on a major street (Comm. Ave), but still!  So what did I get for all that money?  Well, I had to see my exhibitionist neighbor cruise around his apartment naked, listen to a tone-deaf neighbor learn to play the saxophone, and laugh at my next door neighbor’s fights with her Jersey boyfriend.  They reminded me of Christopher and Adriana from the Sopranos.  I don’t know what their names were, but I swear it sounded just like those two. 

Anyway, what I missed most of all in that small space was the lack of room for clothes.  Well, I came across this DIY coat rack on Sincerely, Cecelia that can be used in place of the standing ones:

Source

Here’s how you do it:

materials:

  • fallen branch
  • 2 equal lengths of chain link (measure from ceiling to approximate hanging height and multiply by two to get the length of each chain)
  • 2 eye hooks
  • 2 screw anchors
  • drill
  • hammer
  • spray paint

step 1: paint the branch
Choose a sturdy, straight branch with a few knots to give it an interesting shape and make sure the hook of a hanger can fit around the diameter of the branch. let the branch dry out completely, then, spray paint it whatever color you choose.

step 2: secure eye hooks in ceiling
Anchor two ceiling hooks 1 foot from the wall, to ensure enough space for coats to hang.  The distance between each hook will depend on the length of the branch.  Measure in about 6 inches from the tip of each end of the branch for balance. Drill a hole in the ceiling, tap in a screw anchor with a hammer, then screw in the eye hooks.

step 3: hang the finished branch
Slip both ends of one length of chain link onto an eye hook to create a loop.  Repeat for the other eye hook. the length of chain will depend on ceiling height, but the branch should rest about 5 feet or so above the floor.  Finish by sliding the branch through the loops.  For extra stability, nail the chain to the branch.

If you wanted to do this on a smaller scale, maybe it could be done in a bathroom to hang jewelry from??

4 Responses to “Coat Rack for the New Yorkers (or other small space dwellers)”

  1. Mina 10/04/2010 at 10:26 pm #

    veeerryyy interesting. i know you know that i can’t accomplish something like this, but what a creative idea!

  2. Jessica 10/05/2010 at 9:35 am #

    This is a genius idea! Love it!

    • Morgan 10/05/2010 at 1:01 pm #

      That is just adorable! I love the idea of using a branch.

  3. Marissa 10/05/2010 at 8:30 pm #

    This is flat out adorable!! The other day I was flipping through blogs and there was a similar idea – use a branch as your curtain/valance rod…I am loving the ‘mix organic w/ contemporary’ look. Its like bringing college Shabby Chic to date 🙂 In my head anyways, lol

Leave a Reply

