Shelf Improvement

28 Sep

Ha, I realized after I chose that title that it looks strikingly familiar to “self improvement”, that was totally unintended.  Anyway, so I talked about how I wanted to do a little something to our shelves.  Most of you said that you liked a solid vs. a print.  And, I agreed.  I’m saving the print for our dining room.

So, Sean and I headed to Lowes to pick out some paint.  I knew I wanted something in a blue/green shade, but as you know picking out paint colors can take some time.  I asked Sean what he thought, and he rattled off a few names he thought were funny.  Not helpful.  So I sent him to look at the power tools while I perused the paint colors.  Eventually I decided on one called Spruce Pine.  Don’t be mislead, it’s not what Iwould consider spruce or pine at all.  But, I’ll let you decide for yourself.

Here they are bare:

And with some decorations:

I almost didn’t post this because I feel like the pictures don’t show the true color and I think it looks so much better in person, but I couldn’t capture it.  I tried taking pictures at different times of  the day but didn’t get any better results.  The flash messed everything up.  So, those pictures represent the basic way it looks.  Now if only I could take better pictures.

6 Responses to “Shelf Improvement”

  1. morgana 09/29/2010 at 8:34 am #

    nice pop of color , very cute!

  2. Mina 09/29/2010 at 8:50 am #

    great job! it adds a great touch of color without being overwhelming. yay for improvement projects!

  3. Nikki 09/29/2010 at 9:58 am #

    Looks great!! I love it. And great color choice.

  4. Marissa 09/29/2010 at 2:50 pm #

    This Shelf Project gets an A+ in my book 🙂 I love that you posted the ‘before’ and then followed up with the ‘after’ in a timely manner. I would have taken my sweet ol time and not post the ‘after’ pictures, not on purpose but bc I forgot I posted the before pictures, LOL

  5. shelikesruffles 10/01/2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Seriously…it looks SO GREAT!!!! The blue behind the bookshelves really makes everything pop! Love love love.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Next Great American Blog Post « Minted Life - 10/31/2010

    […] Hello, my name is Barrett and I’m Kelsey’s brother.  I’ve been briefly mentioned on here before.  To my knowledge, this is the first time Kelsey has invited anyone to do a guest post, although it’s unclear whether or not a gay middle-aged man occasionally ghostwrites for her.  […]

Leave a Reply

