Date Night Frustrations

27 Sep

So Sean and I made plans to have a date night last Saturday.  We had reservations at a sushi restaurant downtown.  Neither of us had been there, but we checked the reviews and they were good, and we bought a Groupon, which is always a good way to try a new restaurant.  We were also long overdue for a date night because I’ve been out-of-town, or hosting guests every weekend for the past month, so we were ready to spend some time together.  And, I had my brand new hairdo. 🙂 

We paid for parking in a nearby garage and walked to the restaurant.  I was feeling pretty good because I was wearing a cute new dress and my wedding shoes.  I’ve only managed to pull them out one other time since the wedding, so it was a good night.  We walked into a crowded restaurant and I watched as people in line in front of me put their name on the list and were handed a buzzer.  I knew we wouldn’t get a buzzer because we had reservations.  Thank goodness too because it was super crowded. 

So, I waltz up, give our name and wait to be seated.  You see where this is going, right?  That’s not what happened.  We were told that they didn’t have a table available, but that we were welcome to wait at the martini bar.  I was nice and was like, “Oh, no we have a reservation.”  To which the smug guy at the counter told me, “Yeah, I know.  We overbooked.”  And then he ended it with an I don’t give a shit smirk.  Ugh.  They assured us it would be no more than 25 minutes. 

Trying not to let this get our date night down, we hung out at the bar and ordered a martini.  The minutes ticked by…25, 30, 40, 50.   Here’s the thing, Sean hates to be a jerk so he didn’t want to go up and yell about our table.  I was trying to keep a cool attitude, but once it hit 50 minutes, I lost it.  I went over and asked what the hell was going on, and then just stood there until they seated us.  We were seated about 1 minute later.  I expected a free drink, appetizer, or something.  Or at the very least that a manager would come over and apologize about the wait.  Yeah, well none of that happened. 

But, we were still out, and we were hungry, so the food had to be good, right?  Not so much.  It wasn’t terrible, but it was just mediocre.  Thankfully, our whole meal was $10 after the previous $20 we spent on our Groupon.  After dinner, we knew our luck had to improve.  We met up with some friends for a couple of drinks and had a really nice time.  The drinks were good, the service was good and the conversation was great.  It felt good to end the night on an upswing. 

For our next date night, I think we’ll stick to our regular neighborhood sushi restaurant.  It’s delicious and the service is always good.  Plus the parking is free.

10 Responses to “Date Night Frustrations”

  1. Nathan Marcello 09/27/2010 at 9:25 pm #

    You should have stolen a table like the movie Date Night…I worked out for them. haha

  2. Cathleya 09/27/2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I was reading an article recently about how Groupon was REALLY failing for a lot of businesses—like, they’re not prepared to handle the uptick in capacity (since I think groupon makes you issue as many groupons as are requested—they won’t allow vendors to put a cap on how many groupons they want to give out) and it’s really ruining a lot of businesses reputations. I wonder if the fact that they had a groupon out was the reason for their overwhelming fail? Not 100 percent, by any means, I mean the guy was a dick and if I were you I would do the same—never go back, write a horrible review, etc. I just think that it’s questionable for a lot of businesses to offer groupons that are more selling services than products. Like, say, if you’re a photographer and offer 1/2 off of your services, and 1000 people buy the groupon, don’t you think that could kind of ruin your business?

    Sorry—I went off on a total tangent! But despite the restaurant’s fail in overbooking, the guy shouldn’t have been such a jerk and you should have received SOME sort of condolence!!! Ugh.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/28/2010 at 6:07 pm #

      You are so right! I imagine that it’s a huge influx of people right after the groupon day. I know the table sitting next to us was also using a groupon, and our waitress told us that a lot of other people were too.

  3. Mina 09/28/2010 at 7:38 am #

    oh man, that happened to us once. but the hostess was nice enough to offer a free appetizer or a drink–i was feeling bold and said that i wanted both (it had been, like you, a 50 minute wait, which is outrageous). but you still ended on a great note, and you looked hot!! plus, all the more reason to plan another date night very soon!

  4. Abby 09/28/2010 at 9:09 am #

    Ugh, that’s super annoying! As a former hostess, I can attest that they should have pretty much bent over backwards to “make things right” for you. If you have a reservation, you don’t wait. Period. I hope you have better luck next time (and yay for re-wearing your wedding shoes!!!). 🙂

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/28/2010 at 6:09 pm #

      That’s good to hear that it isn’t some restaurant fiction that I was holding out hope for. And, don’t worry, we’ll have a lot more date nights to make up for it. 🙂

  5. Jessica 09/28/2010 at 9:28 am #

    Ugh. I don’t blame you for being disgusted! That’s just bad service.

  6. Nikki 09/28/2010 at 11:35 am #

    Aww, that stinks date night wasn’t great. Especially when you went to the trouble of making reservations and all. That just means you need a date night re-do!

  7. Kate 09/28/2010 at 8:54 pm #

    That does stink! I think Pengy has a point but as someone who worked for a restaurant where the customer really did come first and we used to buy appetizers for ALL waiting patrons, it makes no sense that they didn’t offer anything for your trouble! Boo.

  8. Anne 09/28/2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Aww!

Leave a Reply

