I did it

26 Sep

The brazilian blowout that is. 

I had a hair appointment for Saturday to get my regular highlights and the most minimal haircut you can imagine.  But, my hair girl called me on Wednesday to ask me if I’d heard about the brazilian blowout.  Of course I told her I had and that I was dying for one, but they just weren’t in my price range.  Well, she said she could do it for 50% off.  I almost fell out of my chair.  I immediately told her to schedule me and the count down to Saturday was on. 

To give my curly hair it’s proper goodbye, I wore it natural for the next couple days.  And I actually took pictures.  Here it is:

So, I was a little nervous about the process because it’s so new and I don’t know anyone that’s actually done one.  But, I read a lot about it so I felt educated enough to go for it.  We started with my regular highlights, and then after everything was rinsed out (with a sulfate-free shampoo), it was time to start.  Basically, she sectioned off my hair and started combing the brazilian blowout stuff in.  I was shocked how little it took.  She poured out 2 little capfuls to use and that was it for my entire head.  Slowly we made our way through my whole head.  At first it was fine, but as she got closer to my face it burned my eyes a little bit. It’s not a strong smell, so I can’t really describe why it hurt them, but they started to water. 

Then, she started blow drying my hair with the solution on and then flat ironed it.  She sectioned off my hair again when flat ironing to make sure she got every inch.  Apparently the heat from the flat iron is what sets the solution and makes your hair straight. 

So you want to see what it looks like now?

Ok, but that was after the salon.  The real test was what it was going to look like after I washed it.  Well, here it is, air dried no flat ironing or blow drying:

(and only half my face because I was wearing no make up.  Truthfully, I was trying to take a picture in the mirror.  Um…it didn’t work)

So for the next 10-12 weeks, I will have straight hair all the time.  You have no idea how excited I am.  And, I know that if I wanted to curl it, I can.  But for now, I’m happy with straight hair.

11 Responses to “I did it”

  1. Amanda 09/26/2010 at 8:09 pm #

    WOW! It looks great! You’ll have to do updates on how it actually holds up, because I could definitely see myself doing this if it’s actually something that lasts as long as it claims to!

  2. Jessica 09/26/2010 at 8:57 pm #

    It turned out awesome! I wish I had the courage to even dye my hair. I have virgin locks, no perms or anything.

  3. E @ Oh! Apostrophe 09/26/2010 at 9:20 pm #

    OMG amazing!! My hair looks just like yours (curly) if I don’t flat iron it. I can’t wait to get this done!! You’ll have to keep us updated on how it holds up… are you afraid you’ll get addicted to it? I am!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/27/2010 at 8:46 am #

      Yes! I’m so worried. I don’t think I’ll get the 50% off price every time. But it’s so worth it for now, we’ll see how it holds up. I’ll keep you guys posted!

  4. brooke @ claremont road 09/26/2010 at 11:13 pm #

    Looks amazing, Kelsey! I’d love to know how your hair is doing after the 10-12 weeks — if it just goes back to your normal curl or if it seems to have made a larger change in the texture overall. I’m always curious if it totally wears off and goes back to normal or if you still see a small difference!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/27/2010 at 8:47 am #

      I know! I’m curious about that too. I’ll have to wait and see what happens. I’ll let you know!

  5. Mara 09/27/2010 at 5:47 am #

    Ahhhhh, now I want to do this!! My hair’s not quite as curly as yours (jealous of that curl, too!) but it would be nice to have it straight all the time…Hmmmm, must start saving up!

  6. Nikki 09/27/2010 at 9:14 am #

    WOW!! I am so impressed!! My hair is a lot curlier than yours (Shirley Temple has nothing on me). Now I am quite curious about what it would do for my hair… I love it! It looks fab!

  7. Mina 09/27/2010 at 9:44 am #

    oh it looks wonderful! i can’t get over that it stays straight–like magic! do you love it? do you love it??

  8. Cathleya 09/27/2010 at 11:51 am #

    Ah-Mazing!!! If I had curly hair I’d SO do this!

  9. Creature Gorgeous 10/03/2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Seriously AMAZING! Looking good!

Leave a Reply

