Ombre Hair

20 Sep

Have you seen the new trend of ombre hair?  You might also know it as two-toned hair.  I’m all for hair trends that allow me to be lazy and not spend money on getting my hair dyed, but I can’t say that I’m on board with this trend. 

Source

And, to be honest, it seems like more work to get it started than a normal dye job.  Do you dye the top of your hair dark and the bottom light?  Because from what I remember, these ladies didn’t grow out their roots for a long time. 

It also reminds me of a time in my life, we’ll call it sophomore year of high school.  For some reason I thought having red, chunky highlights was a good look.  I also thought that said red chunky highlights could be achieved in my own bedroom.  You might guess that this didn’t go well, and I had what my high school english teacher so lovingly called as “fried cheese on my head.”  Actually, her exact words (in front of the entire class) were, “My goodness child, what have you done to your hair?  It looks like you fried cheese on your head.”   Anyway, my mom made me an appointment at a salon to fix it and it was “fixed” in that it was what I asked for, but sadly what I asked for was a terrible idea.  Sorry, I have no pictures of this time to share with you.  At least not electronically. 

But, I have seen this trend done on one person that I actually like.

Source

Subtle, and done years ago ahead of the current trend. 

So what do you think?  Are you a fan of ombre hair?

7 Responses to “Ombre Hair”

  1. Cathleya 09/20/2010 at 9:49 pm #

    I think it has to look very purposeful to actually work. Like, Ashlee Simpson’s hair looks very much like it was on purpose—you don’t do a double take and go “eew her roots are messed”. You know it’s done on purpose. Lauren Conrad’s hair, while totally obvious at the ends, is not so obvious on top, and just looks lazy.

    Drew’s a hippie so she can get away with anything 🙂 I think she looks great, and whether or not it was purposeful she looks cute so whateves.

  2. Jessica 09/21/2010 at 8:44 am #

    I agree with you, I like the look SJP has. It looks almost natural. I’m not so crazy about the extreme two tone.

  3. Mina 09/21/2010 at 5:05 pm #

    meh, that seems like a lot of effort. more importantly, i am bummed about not seeing the red chunky highlights.

  4. shelikesruffles 09/23/2010 at 5:37 pm #

    Yeahhh I’m not sure that I’m on board with this one either. However, I am really not on board with hair color at the moment in general. I used to dye my hair all the time, but 2 years ago I grew it all out and I’ve never gone back!

  5. Christiana (us meets uk) 09/27/2010 at 12:32 pm #

    yeah, so drew and i are rocking the same hair color at the moment. I am… ahead of the trend? by that I mean, I need to get my hair colored, but am too broke/lazy to do so right now?

  6. Becca 09/28/2010 at 6:48 am #

    Ooh… I remember reading about this about five years ago, but never got round to it until this year.

    My hairdresser went darker on the roots and lighter on the ends, and then – using her hands – smushed and blended them to a point in the middle. Unfortunately, the second time around, she decided to re-lighten the ends, which were already light enough, and so they became completely frazzled 😦 With regard to the effort – if you’re one of the millions of former blondes trying to maintain their childhood colour, then this actually works out easier, because you don’t have to be as rigid with the 6-week top-ups.

    It looked really nice in my wedding pics, because I had curls pinned at the back, so you could really see all the colours working together.

    However… I’ve decided that I just can’t deal with the damage that colouring does to my hair anymore, so I’m going au naturel! The word mousey is being banned from my vocabulary 😉

    My sister is a brunette, and spends summers in Spain, so in winter, it does it naturally – it looks gorgeous.

  7. Round Mirror 11/16/2010 at 10:58 pm #

    i really like to color my hair and i would love to try different hair colors specially auburn `.~

Leave a Reply

