Shelf Decor

19 Sep

I have these shelves in my living room:

I feel like they need a little life.  I’ve been searching for inspiration, and I really like the way it looks when the interior is painted a different color from the exterior shelves, like this:

Source

Source

But, I’ve been also thinking about doing a pattern.  Maybe something like this:

Source

Source

Source

Source

I came across this tutorial where I could try out the pattern without truly committing to see if it’s for me.

Source

All you need is cardboard, knife, paper and tape.  Read about it here.

So what do you think?  Do you like the pattern or just a paint color best?

12 Responses to “Shelf Decor”

  1. serena @bigapplenosh 09/19/2010 at 8:57 pm #

    I love the solid painted color look best! 🙂

  2. Jessica 09/20/2010 at 6:26 am #

    The subtle patterns with light colors are my fave. Be sure to let us know what you do! I love that look.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/20/2010 at 10:31 am #

      I definitely will! This project won’t be hard at all. It’s just deciding which direction to go.

  3. blap! 09/20/2010 at 8:31 am #

    Call me boring, but I like the plain white. I might be inclined to paint the “walls” of the shelves a light color but nothing too POPPy – I fear it would become boring too quickly (at least in my house)

  4. Mina 09/20/2010 at 9:46 am #

    i love the light sage paint color the best, but that’s because that would go best in our apartment. a nice, light pattern seems like it would be very nice as well.

  5. Nikki 09/20/2010 at 10:28 am #

    I love it when the back of the bookshelves are different. Its so cute! Where did you get your big letter? I want to get an N, C and the &, but I haven’t been able to find them!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/20/2010 at 10:31 am #

      They’re from anthropologie. The “L” was an engagement gift to represent my new last name, and the & was used in our wedding.

    • Jacqi 09/24/2010 at 1:25 pm #

      They also sell cast metal letters (in 4 different sizes) at Restoration Hardware.

  6. Mel 09/20/2010 at 1:23 pm #

    love the solid colored ones! very pretty.

  7. Marissa 09/20/2010 at 4:35 pm #

    I like the soft patterns, they’re darling. I have to admit, I would probably wanna switch’em up after a year. You know, start with a soft pattern then maybe do a solid paint LOL But yes, please do indeed show us the final result 🙂

  8. Jacqi 09/24/2010 at 1:21 pm #

    I really love the patterns, but I see that you have a stone mantle(?)/wall … so I think I’d go for solid in your case to keep it simple 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shelf Improvement « Minted Life - 09/28/2010

    […] was totally unintended.  Anyway, so I talked about how I wanted to do a little something to our shelves.  Most of you said that you liked a solid vs. a print.  And, I agreed.  I’m saving the […]

Leave a Reply

