Brazilian

14 Sep

Anyone done one?  A brazilian blowout I mean.  I’m obsessed with Groupon, and twice now there have been offers for brazilian blowouts.  Each time I’ve click on the link, read all about the salon, and then got nervous and didn’t buy it.

Source

Perhaps I should give you a little background about why I want one.  My hair is naturally curly.  I know a lot of you are probably shocked because you’ve never actually seen me (or a picture of me) with curly hair.  That’s because I straighten it.  Everyday.  Yep, I shower, blow dry and flat iron my hair all the time.  I know it’s terrible for my hair, and during the summer sometimes I’ll say eff it and just wear it curly because the thought of blow drying my hair when it’s 110 outside is just so unappealing.  But, can you imagine how much time I would save if I could just get up and shower and let my hair dry naturally but still be beautifully straight?

My sister and I always say that we wish we had a magic wand we could wave to get us ready because it takes forever.  And, I truly hate the process, yet I do it all the time.  I tried to find a picture with my hair curly so you could see what it looked like, but I don’t have one.  If I know pictures are going to be involved, I straighten my hair.  Sadly, I’m not kidding.  I think it has something to do with having curly hair as a child that my parents found unmanageable and would therefore cut it short like a boy’s haircut to not have to deal with it.   They would affectionately refer to it as a “rat’s nest” and I think that has made me dislike it more.  Thanks, mom and dad.  But also, I feel like it’s huge when it’s curly, and I know it’s not, it’s just not what I’m used to.

But seriously, has anyone had a brazilian blowout?  Would you recommend it?  Any pointers if I should decide to get one like what to look for when choosing a salon?

9 Responses to “Brazilian”

  1. Jessica 09/15/2010 at 5:58 am #

    This is the first I’ve heard of it. I read it lasts 10-12 weeks?! Wow.

  2. Mina 09/15/2010 at 8:08 am #

    i have become increasingly curious about this as well. it sounds fascinating and people seem to love it. even though it’s kind of pricey, for someone like you who could save a ton of time and not damage your hair, it could totally be worth it!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/15/2010 at 6:26 pm #

      Yes! And it’s not damaging at all, supposedly it’s good for your hair.

  3. Amy 09/15/2010 at 8:57 am #

    Y.E.S please!

  4. Nikki 09/15/2010 at 9:40 am #

    I’ve never even heard of a brazilian (in this way)! I’m impressed with your dedication. I have really curly hair, and when my husband and I started dating 3 years ago, I straightened it some (it was much shorter then), but my arms would just get so tired, Plus it took me an hour to do. It was too much for me. But it was fun having a really different look. Unfortunately my hair has a mind of its own, and it does what it wants, when it wants.

  5. Becca 09/15/2010 at 2:24 pm #

    My Mum had one a few months ago and absolutely loves it! She has fine but plentiful hair (does that make sense? The hairs themselves are fine, but there are lots of them) with a strong natural kink to it, but now it is so sleek, and she never has to blow-dry it. I’m tempted, but the price is holding me back at the moment.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/15/2010 at 6:25 pm #

      I know! I feel the same way, but when it’s half off with a groupon, it seems worth it. Hopefully another will pop up and I’ll do it and blog about the results.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I did it « Minted Life - 09/26/2010

    […] Sep The brazilian blowout that […]

Leave a Reply

