Bulk Day

6 Sep

So, tomorrow is bulk pickup day in our neighborhood.  Luckily, I got back in town today from Minneapolis (more on that in a future post) so that I could take part; both in the getting rid of stuff and also picking up stuff.  Sean was totally embarrassed and didn’t want to take part, but there was some awesome stuff out in our neighborhood for free.  I loaded the dogs up because they were so excited I was back in town and started to freak out as soon as I picked up my car keys, so they got to come with me.  If you have dogs, do they get like that too?

Anyway, I saw some outdoor furniture and was super excited.  I’ve been wanting some for a while now since we have a great deck, but it’s so expensive, and if I’m going to spend money on furniture right now, it’s going to be for in our house.  So originally there were six chairs with the set, but by the time I got there, only 2 remained. 

Super cute, right?  And best of all FREE.  They had a matching table too, but it was sort of broken so I left it behind. 

And, speaking of our deck, last week Sean and I were barbecuing and guess what we saw?

(don’t mind the leaves)

A snake!!  I was terrified of it, but I really had to get outside so that I could take a picture of it.  It was brightly colored which I always assumed meant it was super poisonous.  But, I learned that it’s some type of garter snake and not at all dangerous.  Sadly, he eats frogs and toads which I want around our yard to eat the mosquitos. 

So, back to bulk pick up, are you embarrassed like Sean to pick up stuff for free, or if it’s worth it would you grab some?

5 Responses to “Bulk Day”

  1. Jessica 09/06/2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I’ve totally stolen deck chairs someone set out…the chairs you got look awesome!

  2. Kim 09/06/2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I love imaging Sean’s reaction when you suggested this adventure 🙂

  3. Mara 09/07/2010 at 8:51 am #

    I take stuff off the street ALL the time here in NYC!!! Our coffee table, chopping block, bedroom mirror and lots of other stuff is all off the street, it’s recycling, man! Those outdoor chairs are awesome, great find!

  4. Mina 09/07/2010 at 5:57 pm #

    those are some amazing chairs you scored! that snake would have freaked me the hell out.

  5. N. 09/08/2010 at 8:14 am #

    Great finds! I’ve never found furniture that was in good enough condition, but I would definitely take it home if it was the case. Also, I love how you were scared of the snake but still had to take a picture of it !

Leave a Reply

