Groundhog’s Day

31 Aug

There’s routine and then there’s a rut.  I’m starting to feel like I’m in a rut.  Everyday feels the same, only with a different outfit.   Here’s my typical day:

5:25 a.m.: Get woken up by dog nudging me to go outside, shoo her away only to have her do the same thing about 1 minute later.

5:35 a.m. : Give up on dog letting me sleep a little longer and let her out.  Decide it’s not worth it to go back to sleep because my alarm will be going off soon anyway.  Start to get ready for work.

7:00 a.m. : Head to work listening to NPR, eat breakfast on the way even though I woke up earlier than I normally do, I can’t seem to make time for breakfast.

7:30 a.m.: Get to work and start going through emails and checking on the status of projects.  Work on current projects, send some emails.  Deal with today’s drama.

9:30 a.m. : Eat apple, work, send emails, go to meetings. Check my cell phone for any comments on my blog post.

12:00ish: Grab my pre-made lunch from the fridge, sit at my desk, work, eat lunch.

12:15: Done with lunch, continue working, wish I had some kind of dessert.

2:00: Start to look at the clock and wonder where the afternoon went (or wonder why it’s going by at a snail’s pace).  Do some more work, send some more emails for the rest of the afternoon.  Check cell again for comments. Maybe attend another meeting.

4:30: Go home if I get to leave on time (that’s been rare these days).  Sit in traffic.  Read signs from panhandlers.  Laugh at the one that says, “I’m dreaming about tacos.”  (that’s funny to me! I really want to give him a taco)  Call someone on my drive home, usually my friend Kim.

5:30: Take the dogs for a walk.  Catch up with Sean regarding the day’s events. Wonder when the hell the heat is going to break.

6:30: Get back on the computer this time at home, and start to go through my usual blogs.

7:00: Make dinner, eat dinner, watch some tv.

8:00:  Get back on the computer and ask Sean what I should blog about.  He says I don’t know, unless I’ve been whining about something to which he always says, “Why don’t you blog about that”?  Then I come up with something.

9:30: Read and get ready for bed only to do it all again the next day.

Lame.  I know.  Sometimes I have events after work like happy hour, book club, (and soon craft club), or community council meetings, but for the most part I feel like I do the same thing everyday.  I live in a great city (Austin) and I don’t even take advantage of it.  Granted my weekends look a little different, but during the week I feel like a drone.   I just feel like I need some creative outlet, but right now my life/work balance isn’t very, um…balanced.  It’s not all bad though, we’re accomplishing a lot at work, and I’m finishing up some very big projects, which will allow me to return to a more regular schedule. 

To try to combat this feeling, Sean and I are planning a “Ferris Bueller day” where we’ll explore the city and act like we’re on vacation here.  We would do it now, but it’s too hot, so once the fall rolls around, it’s on.  Here’s to tasting food from all the yummy food trucks, visiting the obscure nooks and crannys, and enjoying our city. 

Anyone else ever feel this way?

8 Responses to “Groundhog’s Day”

  1. Ashley 08/31/2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Sometimes. But mostly what I feel is guilt for not having left you more comments since they seem to break up your day well. 🙂

    Love you!

  2. serena @bigapplenosh 08/31/2010 at 9:34 pm #

    I hear ya. Right now between work and my blog, I’m TOO busy (or rather, I’m just slow), but when things calm down, I’ll have to make sure I don’t fall into a rut. A Ferris Bueller day sounds like a great idea – I hope you blog about it 🙂

  3. N. 09/01/2010 at 2:23 am #

    Your day sounds a lot like my day (except for the dog part). Hope you will be able to have your Ferris Bueller day soon! PS: Though I don’t always leave comments, I really enjoy reading your blog 🙂

  4. Mina 09/01/2010 at 8:03 am #

    sometimes routines are comforting, other times they feel like a rut, especially when you’re working harder than normal. ugh. i totally know what you’re talking about. sounds like it’s about time for the heat to break. you and sean totally deserve a ferris bueller day!

  5. Abby 09/01/2010 at 9:01 am #

    I was JUST thinking about this on my commute this morning! Wake up, work out, eat, go to work, come home, make dinner, blog, go to bed. Lather, rinse, repeat. Like Mina said, routines can be comforting, but sometimes…you just need a break!

  6. Nikki 09/01/2010 at 9:02 am #

    I feel like that all the time! Even my weekends aren’t great because I spend the weekend preparing for the week!- Clean the apartment, go to the grocery store, go to the farmers market, work on laundry, cook… nothing very exciting. A Ferris Bueller day sounds like a great idea! I may have to try to convince my husband we should do the same one day when it cools off some!

  7. kelsey@mintedlife 09/01/2010 at 9:29 am #

    Thanks, girls!! It’s so great to hear that I’m not alone. I hope my life gets more exciting so that I can tell you all about it. And, I will definitely blog about our Ferris Bueller day.

  8. bienliving 09/02/2010 at 9:26 am #

    This happens to me too. Can you start going out during your lunch break and exploring parts of the city? That migh thelp break up your day a bit, even if you don’t eat out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

