Craft Club

23 Aug

We’ve all been a part of a book club, and they’re great.  I’ve recently become the delinquent member of mine, but mostly because I haven’t been connecting with the book choices lately, and I haven’t wanted to spend my time reading books I knew I wouldn’t enjoy.  So instead I picked up other books that seemed interesting to me (if you haven’t read the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, do it, so good!).  Anyway, I also thought maybe I was just “over” book club and needed to do something else with my time.  And, to be honest, my book club is mostly a wine club.  Nothing wrong with that, but sometimes I really did want to talk about the book!! 

Well, a friend and I were talking about starting a craft club.  We could plan in advance what our project would be and each person could gather the necessary supplies so that when we left we would have our very own project.  I am SO excited about this.  I’ve been wanting to sew for some time now, but haven’t taken the time to enroll in a class.  Well, luckily one of my craft club members is an avid sewer, so maybe one of our projects could be a beginner sewing project? 

But, for our very first project we decided that we should have fun with Plasti Dip.  I can’t take credit for coming up with this project because my friend did, but I am very ready to plasti dip.  So what kind of things can you do with plasti dip?

This:

Source

All you have to do is make paper cranes and dip them in the magic rubber substance and tada!  Still not convinced?  What about this badass clock?

Source

Or this coral hook?

Source

Or the pièce de résistance?

Source

How exciting is this??  Any suggestions for other projects?

9 Responses to “Craft Club”

  1. Serena 08/23/2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Oh cool! I’d love to be part of a craft club!

  2. mina 08/24/2010 at 10:07 am #

    what a great idea! and i’m totally fascinated by this plastidip stuff.

  3. Naomi 08/24/2010 at 10:12 am #

    I had never heard of this plasti dip stuff, but now my brain is rolling with ideas to use it. I think it would be really cool to dip fake flowers and make a bouquet of plasti dipped flowers. It would make for an interesting display. Other ideas..for the plasti dip…..I saw on another site, dipping pine cones, and thought you could also dip acorns and other more stable natural objects. What about rocks/pebbles?

    I think I might be making a trip to Home Depot for some in the near future.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 08/24/2010 at 4:17 pm #

      Such a great idea!! I love the suggestion to use acorns or more natural materials. I even think a cool shaped twig would be awesome. I can’t wait!! And, just FYI, I’m not sure if Home Depot has it. But I know you can buy it online.

  4. Naomi 08/24/2010 at 4:52 pm #

    The Plasti Dip website indicates that Ace Hardware, Home Depot and other stores carry it. It’s not typically a craft product but is used to dip tools into to create a grip coating for the handles. I would probably call in advance to make sure the store actually has it.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 08/24/2010 at 8:38 pm #

      You’re so right. It was the white color that they don’t always have in stores.

  5. Kate 09/12/2010 at 1:19 pm #

    WAIT. Even _I_ could probably make something decent with that stuff…might head to store this week.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Plasti-Dip « Minted Life - 10/17/2010

    […] Oct So, remember when I talked about our craft club?    Well, about a month ago we had our first one and the craft was plasti-dip.  We named our […]

  2. Fellow Creative’s 1st craft meet-up (Fun with plasti-dip) at Fellow Creatives - 10/18/2010

    […] of all the chincey knick knacks that could be turned posh with one dip. Fellow creative Kelsey from Minted life saw the same vision and a craft meet-up date was set. FC crafters brought tons of fun objects keys, […]

Leave a Reply

