Bebe sign

8 Aug

Remember when I was trying to make Martha’s ‘bebe’ sign?  Well, I had the shower this past weekend, and I’m happy to say that the sign looked great!!  Here’s how I did it.

Supplies needed:

  • wire wrapped with rafia-like material (I found it at Michael’s)
  • needle nose pliers with wire cutter
  • lavender stems with buds

Okay, so I started with the wrapped wire:

And I just started bending the wire into the correct letter shapes with my fingers.  I used the pliers to help when I wrapped the wire around itself to hold it in place, and to cut the wire from the spool:

I found the “e” to be a lot harder than the “b”  I kept having to readjust.  For the b, I did basically the same thing.  I made the loop at the top first, wrapped it through itself, and then made the bottom part of the letter:

Here’s how it looked before the lavender:

Then, I took my lavender plant and pulled off some stems to wrap them around the wire (don’t worry, I still have a very full plant):

Just repeat and repeat on each of the letters until they are completely covered.  I didn’t need to do anything to keep the lavender in place, it basically just stayed put after I wrapped it.  I did tuck it a couple times where necessary:

And, hanging at the party (sadly, I did not get a good picture):

The mom-to-be loved it and took it home with her.  I’ll share more stuff from the shower, including the croquembouche we made.  Yum!!

10 Responses to “Bebe sign”

  1. Cathleya 08/08/2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Soooo cute! Great job!

  2. Mina 08/08/2010 at 9:12 pm #

    oh my gosh that’s awesome! well done, and so cute!

  3. amg 08/09/2010 at 9:00 am #

    Thank you for the tutorial! 🙂 I love it — you did a great job!

  4. Laura McFarlane 08/09/2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Have I told you lately how amazing you are? So much wonderful talent – I miss you much!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 08/09/2010 at 7:47 pm #

      Awww, you are too sweet!! I miss you too, lots! I’m really looking forward to seeing you in October!

  5. Serena 08/09/2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Well done! Very impressive 🙂

  6. Ruth 01/16/2011 at 2:20 am #

    This is adorable! I saw it on the Martha Stewart website and want to make it for a baby shower I’m hosting this summer. Thanks for the detailed instructions.

    How large were the letters you made and how long did it take you make them?

    • kelsey@mintedlife 01/16/2011 at 8:38 am #

      The “b” was about 12 inches and the “e” was probably about 5. And, making the shape of the letters before the lavender probably took about 20 minutes. I don’t think it would take anyone else that long really, I was just trying to figure out what to do. So, if you already have a good idea, it shouldn’t take long at all. And the lavender probably took about 25 min. I took some time to find good stems, strategically wrap them and then cover any “bald” spots. Hope that helps.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Croquembouche « Minted Life - 08/09/2010

    […] Aug At the baby shower, we made a delicious croquembouche.  It was the perfect fit for this French country themed shower, […]

  2. Hey hey Bebe « Notes From the Bench - 08/19/2010

    […] the title came from seeing Minted Life‘s post about making the hanging bebe letters! She did a great job, I wish I could borrow them from her!) Posted by notesfromthebench […]

Leave a Reply

