Halloween and Contests

28 Jul

I know it’s July and we are no where near Halloween, but I needed memories of cooler weather.  Our second Halloween together, Sean and I decided that we would have a pumpkin carving contest.   If you know anything about my crafting skills (including carving skills), they aren’t great.  But I was determined to win because I’m SUPER competitive.  And, although Sean isn’t outwardly competitive like I am, he still likes to win things, so he wasn’t going to give in. 

We went to the store to pick out our pumpkins and I scoped them all out.  I decided that the first store didn’t have anything worthy, so I went to another store in search of a less odd-shaped, rotting pumpkin.  I ended up settling on one that could just sit up straight and had one carvable side.   We don’t live in areas where we can pick our own pumpkins like they do in the northeast. 

Once we had our pumpkins, we had to decide what type of face we wanted to carve.  We didn’t want to go the cheater route and buy stencils, so we set up with some sharpie markers and a knife and got to work. 

Here are our pumpkins.  Can you guess which one is mine?

Do you need to see them glowing?

I know, I know.  One is clearly better than the other.  We wanted to be our own judges, but then the trick-or-treaters that came by ALL made comments about how cool that pumpkin with the teardrop was.  Whatever.  At least I get to keep trying this year, and the year after that….

3 Responses to “Halloween and Contests”

  1. mina 07/28/2010 at 10:04 pm #

    i love both of them! i hope sean didn’t do some kind of victory dance.

  2. Serena 07/29/2010 at 12:51 am #

    Hahaha. I love that competitive streak. Personally, I like the eyebrows on yours 🙂

    • kelsey@mintedlife 07/29/2010 at 10:33 am #

      Aww thanks!! Do you like how his eyebrow is falling into his eye because the knife slipped? 🙂

Leave a Reply

