Baby Shower

27 Jul

From a bridal shower to a baby shower.   So, a friend and co-worker of mine is having a baby.  Her shower is next weekend.  I am not throwing it, but I am going to it and I’m excited about it.  So, Monday morning I was at a meeting sitting in for my boss (I promise this is relevant), following the meeting, my boss’ boss (got that??) asked if she could speak to me for a bit.  I thought  it was probably about some legislator calling and figured we’d have to come up with a response.  Well, it wasn’t.   She pulled up the Martha Stewart website and asked me if I could make something for the baby shower that she’s hosting.  Apparently, she thought I was super crafty after seeing all the stuff I did for the wedding.   I was so flattered, but also terrified.  I better make the shit out of whatever it is she wants me to do.  And what is it that she wants me to do?

This:

Source

No, not the whole tablescape (damn you Sandra Lee for getting into my vocabulary!), just the ‘bebe’ sign. 

Well, it doesn’t look that hard.  I’m more concerned about finding the right materials.  She suggested that I just come over about an hour before the shower to work on it then.  Well, my neuroses will most definitely not be ok with that.  I told her I would likely work on it this week and bring a letter in so she could see what it looked like and make sure she liked what I was putting together.   Now, this lady is SO nice.  If she thought I was in the least bit worried about it, she wouldn’t have asked me to do it.  She just realized that I liked all the wedding stuff, and figured that I would enjoy this project.  And I do, I’m just so worried that I’m going to make something crappy and she’ll regret that she asked me to do it. 

To make myself feel better, I contacted my wedding florist and she gave me some tips and pointers on how to make it and where to find the materials.  I hope I can pull this off!  I don’t want to disappoint anyone.  I’ll keep you guys posted on how it all plays out.  Any suggestions or tips?

5 Responses to “Baby Shower”

  1. Mina 07/27/2010 at 9:43 pm #

    ooh how exciting i know you can do it! you’re going to do a fabulous job. and, you’re FAMOUS!!!! martha stewart, move the hell over.

  2. amg 07/28/2010 at 8:19 am #

    Adorable! I’m sure you’ll do a great job. Also, a tutorial on how to make the “bebe” letters (after you figure it out!) would be super helpful. 🙂

  3. kelsey@mintedlife 07/28/2010 at 8:27 am #

    @mina: Haha, yes, so famous. 🙂
    @amg: yes, I’ll definitely post a tutorial once I figure it all out!

  4. N. 07/29/2010 at 9:56 am #

    Wire? Leafy ivy like plant ? In France, we use thin young branches of vine. It’s easy to bend but it does not break… Hope it turns out well! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bebe sign « Minted Life - 08/08/2010

    […] Aug Remember when I was trying to make Martha’s ‘bebe’ sign?  Well, I had the shower this past weekend, and I’m happy to say that the sign looked […]

Leave a Reply

