Wedding Shower and a Dessert Table

26 Jul

So one of my really good friends from college is getting married in October (yay Ashley!  so if you want to be surprised about any aspect of your shower, this is not the post for you).   We are throwing a shower for her in Minneapolis over Labor Day weekend, and I am putting together the dessert table for it.  I am SUPER excited about it for a couple of reasons.  1.  I love dessert. 2. I didn’t have one at our wedding and I love the idea.  I drool when I look at Amy Atlas’ blog.   I hope that the decorations I’ve chosen will be useful for her for the wedding since she said she still doesn’t have everything she needs. 

Well, the first thing I got was from one of my bee friends.  See, she hosted a shower for a friend of hers, and I read about it and her beautiful dessert table on her blog.  Her decor was fabulous!  I thought I would use it as inspiration, but then I decided I should just ask her if she was willing to sell it to me because we all know there is no way I could make it as nice as she did.  Luckily she was willing to sell!!   So who was it?  The talented Mrs. Mascara who now blogs over at Bijou Lovely

I got the Love is Sweet banner and garland seen here:

I’m focusing on red and white items for the desserts. 

Here are some ideas I’m throwing around…

Rock Candy:

Source

Cake pops (They’re so cute!  How can I not make them??)

Source

Marshmallows (I know this is nougat, but pretend it’s not):

Source

Whoopie pies:

Source

White chocolate covered strawberries:

Source

Swedish Fish:

Source

Licorice:

Source

Personalized Jones Soda:

Source

So what do you think?   Am I missing anything?  Do I need more candy less baked goods or vice versa?  I can’t wait!!

6 Responses to “Wedding Shower and a Dessert Table”

  1. Serena 07/26/2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Yum! It all looks so good!

  2. Mina 07/27/2010 at 8:29 am #

    i like the variety. man, i’d have my grubby paws all over that table the entire time. hold me back!

  3. AMG 07/27/2010 at 9:22 am #

    I think the variety that you have looks great! Something for everyone (chocolate, non-chocolate), and personalized Jones soda gets me every time.

  4. Morgan 07/27/2010 at 2:21 pm #

    This sounds like a fantastic mix! Sounds like it’s going to be a great shower!

  5. Ashley 07/27/2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Oh my gosh I just read this! (yes, I couldn’t resist, despite my claims to want to be surprised)

    I cannot BELIEVE you are doing all of this for me. I am so touched and so grateful. And now, also, so hungry.

    The marshmallows and Jones sodas probably got me the best, but you know I’ll surely dig into the rock candy, sweedish fish, and choc strawberries as well. Plus I love the decorations.

    You’re amazing. For reals.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cupcakes!! « Minted Life - 08/29/2010

    […] over Labor Day weekend and my mind is drifting to all things sweet in preparation for the dessert table.  Well, I found the best site with the most amazing cupcake recipes.  Ming Makes Cupcakes, I […]

Leave a Reply

