Office Party

22 Jul

Friday we have a party at work. Sean says that my work is just like that tv show, the Office.  Meaning, we have parties a lot.  What can I say, we recognize the importance of birthdays, superbowls, religious and non-religious holidays.   This time we’re celebrating one of my co-worker’s birthdays with a potluck breakfast.  Since it’s for a birthday, it’s a surprise and I’m not really sure what everyone is bringing.  Usually, I go pretty generic and pick up something like chips or I’ll put together a fruit tray, but today I decided to actual make something and bring it.  I heard that most people are bringing things for breakfast tacos, so I figured salsa would be best.

I made some salsa for the 4th of July and it was so delicious.  I found myself sneaking bites whenever I’d pass the fridge.  I adopted this recipe from the Pioneer Woman, but I changed a couple of things. 

So here’s what you need:

  • 2 cans of Rotel with diced tomatoes and green chilies
  • big can of whole tomatoes peeled
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 jalapeno pepper (seeds and ribs included)
  • 1/2 cup to a cup of cilantro depending on how much you love it
  • 1/4 cup of onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cumin
  • juice from 1/2 of a juicy lime, or all of a less juicy one

Start with the canned tomatoes and Rotel in your food processor.  Ree throws everything in, juice and all.  I like to drain the juice from the peeled tomatoes and some of the juice from the Rotel.  Sorry I can’t be more specific than that.  It just looked like it was drowning in juice, so I poured some off.

Next, add the onions and garlic:

Then add the cilantro, lime juice, salt, sugar, cumin and jalapenos (I forgot to take a picture of the jalapenos cut up, but visit the Pioneer Woman website if you need help on how to cut them)

Then pulse about 5-8 times (more for less chunky salsa), then pour into a better bowl and enjoy!

I think it’s way better if you can wait to enjoy it once it’s cold and the flavors have had time to sit together.  Yum.  I hope the people at work like it with their breakfast tacos!

6 Responses to “Office Party”

  1. Cathleya 07/22/2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Ohhh yummm. I’ve never made restaurant style salsa (this is what I consider restaurant style salsa I guess???) I’ve always just been lazy and bought it already made (I like Herdez) or I make the salsa that’s really more of just chopped up fresh veggies (pretty much everything you used here but fresh tomatoes instead of canned). I don’t love that kind when I make it though—I mean it’s fresh and good, but the flavors aren’t as “incorporated” as the recipe you posted here. I have to try this!

  2. Katie 07/23/2010 at 8:25 am #

    Yes yes and YES! Seriously, Ree’s recipe is my all time favorite…and since it isn’t expensive to make whatsoever, I pretty much just make my own salsa now instead of buying it in the jar (although I always have one on hand just in case…emergencies you know….haha)!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 07/23/2010 at 9:06 am #

      Yes!! It is so yummy! That woman never ceases to amaze me, her recipes are delicious!

  3. Mina 07/23/2010 at 9:56 am #

    ooh cumin what a great idea! this looks fantastic i’m sure your coworkers loved it!

  4. Serena 07/23/2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Yuummm looks delish! I love cilantro 🙂

  5. jackiesear 07/24/2010 at 6:48 pm #

    Your blog continues to be amazing. Great work!

Leave a Reply

