Brown Bag Lunch

21 Jul

I take my lunch to work nearly everyday.  On occasion I’ll go out to lunch with my co-workers to avoid being deemed the recluse that never leaves her desk and even eats lunch there.  But, it gets hard to come up with new lunch ideas. 

For a while I was eating a salad with these ingredients:

  • Baby spinach
  • Chickpeas
  • Dried cranberries
  • Mushrooms
  • Blue cheese crumbles
  • Hard boiled egg
  • Annie’s Ginger vinaigrette dressing

Everyday.

And, it was good, but I mean how many times can you eat that?  So I started taking my lunch less and less, and spending more money on picking something up, or just eating a south beach diet bar and some goldfish when I couldn’t leave my desk.  Clearly that had to stop.  So, I searched around online for some lunch ideas and realized that when you’re a vegetarian it’s hard to find good suggestions for meals to pack for work.  Or at least it was for me. 

I felt uninspired after looking online and hoped that once I got to the store I might find something appealing.  Well, Sean HATES nothing more than lollygagging at the grocery store.  I felt rushed, and ended up buying a can of chickpeas, some tomatoes and a lemon.  Well, you can imagine how terrible chickpeas, tomatoes and lemon juice alone are.  I tried to throw in some red onion, but it was just gross. 

The next time I decided to go to the store myself and take as long as I wanted to walk up and down the aisles.  And what do you know?  I came up with something!  For this week I’ve been packing a pita sandwich with these ingredients:

  • Sundried tomato and basil hummus (spread on the pita, yum!)
  • Cucumber
  • Red bell pepper
  • Mushroom
  • Cherry tomatoes (cut in half)
  • Spinach
  • Blue cheese crumbles

I spread the hummus on the bread and added some cucumbers:

(Don’t mind the tears in my pita bread)

Then, I added the bell peppers and the mushrooms

And last was the spinach, tomatoes and cheese!

OMG, it was SO good.  I was really impressed.  I was worried the pita would get all soggy if I made it ahead of time, but it didn’t.  It was really yummy.  And for dessert I packed a peach.  They’re in season now and so delicious. 

Do you take your lunch to work?  What do you pack?

4 Responses to “Brown Bag Lunch”

  1. Cathleya 07/21/2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Haha, peaches must be in season because practically the only things I could find at the farmers market this weekend were corn and peaches! 🙂 That pita DOES look great! I’m impressed that it doesn’t get soggy, too!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 07/22/2010 at 9:31 am #

      Haha! I know. We have about 10 different types of peaches to choose from!

  2. Mina 07/21/2010 at 9:27 pm #

    mm yum! and so healthy. i am also impressed that the pita didn’t get soggy.

  3. Serena 07/21/2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Yumm, looks delish and simple enough for even me to handle.

Leave a Reply

