Kids and Animals

14 Jul

So, I talked about my nieces visit a couple of weeks ago and mentioned our baking project, but I didn’t talk about the rest of the weekend yet.  Well, part of what they love about visiting Austin are all the animals they can encounter just in my neighborhood.  And no, I don’t mean our dogs.  We live in Northwest Hills Austin and there are a lot of deer and other random critters around.  While they were here, all they cared about was seeing a deer.  Luckily, we did lots better than that. 

We found a frog (more likely a toad) hanging out in our backyard:

One of my nieces kept asking me to pick it up.  But the thing was HUGE!  But, it reminds me of a story from when I was little.  We had a lot of toads in our yard when I was growing up.  One day my sister and I wanted to count just how many there were, but toads all look-alike unless they are different sizes.  So, we came up with a very scientific method of marking them with our washable crayola markers each time we caught one (though she was scared to touch them so it was usually me).  Unfortunately the same stupid toad kept jumping back into our grasp, so we counted a total of 2 toads the entire time. 

Ok, but back to the animals.  We also found a turtle:

We had to catch him just for a bit because I mean, he was so cute!

They really wanted to take him back to Dallas, but I told them that he was an Austin turtle and needed to stay here.  So we released him, and Natalie (my niece) made sure that we found the perfect spot. 

But, up to that point we hadn’t seen a deer yet.  Well, as we were playing with play-doh in the living room and finishing up breakfast, a couple of them came into our front yard.  I didn’t get a picture of the deer, but I got a picture of everyone’s reaction:

So glad you came Natalie and Faryn! Can’t wait to see you again. 🙂

3 Responses to “Kids and Animals”

  1. Mina 07/14/2010 at 10:53 pm #

    who knew that your neighborhood was all wilderness-y? your nieces are too cute to be believed. so sweet.

  2. Cathleya 07/14/2010 at 11:29 pm #

    Haha. All those kids lined up in a row at the bottom. So cute! I cannot believe you have TURTLES! That is so cool!

  3. Serena 07/16/2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I love that last picture! Everybody, canine AND human, seems so excited to see the deer!

Leave a Reply

