Where Sleeping Dogs Lie

11 Jul

I started to feel bad for Belle because Molly had a bed, but she didn’t.  But, I didn’t want to buy her an expensive bed because let’s be honest, dogs sleep wherever.  And most of the time that “wherever” spot is our living room rug.  Even still, I wanted to get her something.  So, I went to Tuesday Morning and found a pillow sham massively on sale.  I figured they’re much prettier than any of the dog beds I’ve seen at Petsmart (ok, sidenote: I was just at Petsmart and apparently Martha Stewart has started to make dog merchandise, so there are some decent choices now). 

Anyway, back to what I did.  Tuesday Morning.  Found a pillow sham:

I stuffed it with blankets we had around our house that we never use.  If I’m being honest, it was the bedding Sean had on his bed when we met.  It looks like a typical guy sheet set.  Picture brown with geometric shapes.  Anyway, I used that to stuff the pillow sham with, and came up with this:

And Belle likes it, sort of:

But of course once we started taking pictures, Molly wanted in on it too.  This is her “bow” trick:

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out, it fits in her crate too when she has to be in there.  And, its way cuter than the store-bought ones for a fraction of the price.

4 Responses to “Where Sleeping Dogs Lie”

  1. Serena 07/11/2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Very creative, and a hit with the doggies, can’t ask for more 🙂

  2. Mina 07/11/2010 at 8:05 pm #

    great idea! oh my god i just want to give your dogs the biggest hug ever. they may not like it, but that’s okay.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 07/11/2010 at 9:38 pm #

      They would love it!! They can even hop up to give you a full hug if you want one. 🙂

  3. Kristin ~ Bien Living 07/19/2010 at 3:01 pm #

    I did this same exact thing a couple of months ago! 🙂

Leave a Reply

