Living Room Design

9 Jul

So I alluded to getting some help from a bee friend here.  Well, guess what?  That help has arrived!  Kristin of Bien Living and I have been communicating about ideas for our living room.  I sent her some pictures and an elementary word document with the specs of our living room, and she came back with a beautiful design board and layout for our “new” living room. 

I told her what colors I like (grey, blue, green, yellow, white), and my budget and she took all of that to heart.  The great thing about this is that I can slowly add things into our space as budget and time allow and I will have a well-designed living room to walk into everyday. 

I know you want me to be quiet and show the design already, so I’ll oblige.  Here is the design board:

And here is the layout:

And because I’m sure it’s impossible to envision this beautiful design without knowing what our current space looks like, I’ll share that too:

We already started with the curtains.  We took down the ugly blinds that were there and replaced those with beautiful flowing white curtains.  Next, I want to tackle the fireplace.   I am hoping to tile the black part with these and get rid of the doors.   I’m not sure exactly how that will work, but maybe I can ask some people at one of the design/home renovation stores around me for some help.  Stay tuned!!

10 Responses to “Living Room Design”

  1. Serena 07/09/2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Awesome, YAY for Kristin (and your step-by-step living room transformation)! 🙂

  2. Mina 07/09/2010 at 12:25 pm #

    so exciting! i bet even changing the curtains made a huge difference. the fireplace should be a fun project. looks like the idea is heading towards something lighter and brighter, which is awesome!

  3. Cathleya 07/09/2010 at 12:48 pm #

    I cannot WAIT to see the after pics!!! How fun!

  4. Jackie Sears 07/11/2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I love this blog and keeping up with your projects! I’m going to try the risotto. Loved the story about Molly and Bell even though I already had heard it. Great, creative work!!

  5. jackiesear 07/11/2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Love this blog! I’ve even subscribed to start one of my own; I’ll let you know when I begin writing. I enjoyed all of the stories but especially the one about Molly and Bell even though I had heard it before!

  6. Creature Gorgeous 07/11/2010 at 11:13 pm #

    Oh I love your design board!!! All the elements, colors, etc are fantastic! Your space is awesome with the ceilings and the hearth–I’m already envisioning the results!!

  7. Brandi 07/14/2010 at 12:50 am #

    I love the layout of your living room1 It’s so open. And Kristin did a great job with the design board! Can’t wait to see after pics 🙂

  8. Kristin ~ Bien Living 07/19/2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Love the post! Glad to hear you’re getting started on the curtains – that will make a huge impact! Can’t wait to see the after pictures!!

  9. Linda 08/19/2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Love the sofa, chair, and whatever fabric that is on the top right of the board…where’s it from?

Leave a Reply

