Mushroom Risotto

5 Jul

I had this meal sitting in my blogging to do list, but hadn’t written about it yet so I figured I should share before I forgot all the details.  I made this meal a couple of weekends ago, and it really wasn’t difficult to make at all, it’s just time-consuming. 

Here’s everything you need:

  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 pound assorted mushrooms, such as Portobello, crimini, and shiitake (I just used crimini though because I’m lazy)
  • Leaves from handful fresh thyme sprigs (I used dried thyme because it was too expensive at my store to buy fresh)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (I used curly parsley because that’s all my crappy grocery store had)
  • 2 cups Arborio rice
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine, such as Pinot Grigio
  • 8 cups canned vegetable stock, heated (I ended up only using about 5-6 cups, so you may not need it all)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • Fresh flat-leaf parsley, for garnish
  •  

    Ok, so start with some olive oil, onions and garlic in the pot:

    Cook for about 5 minutes until they become translucent. 

    Next, add the sliced mushrooms and herbs:

    Season with salt and pepper and cook for about 10 minutes.  You know they’re ready because the mushrooms will soften, start to lose their liquid, and look like this:

    Next, add the risotto:

    Stir it around until it becomes a little opaque (about 2 minutes), season with salt and pepper again, and then add the wine.  Cook for about 1 minute to burn off the alcohol.

    Then, add one cup of warm vegetable stock:

    Here’s the hard part, you have to stir continuously until the rice absorbs all the vegetable stock, then you add in the next cup of vegetable stock and repeat and repeat.  Your arm will feel like it’s going to fall off, but just switch arms and keep stirring.  It’s worth it. I ended up stirring through about 6 cups of vegetable stock.  You’ll know the rice is done because it will look really creamy.  Only, I thought it looked creamy before it was done, so it’s ok to do a taste test if you need to.  I did about 3.  Probably wishful thinking because I was tired of stirring. 

    Once the risotto is fully cooked, add in the butter and freshly grated cheese and fold them in. 

    After all of this, I forgot to take a plated version of this, so up there is the last picture I got.  It was delicious though!  I highly recommend making it!  Anyone make different types of risotto?  I would love to make a lobster or crab risotto.  YUM.

    3 Responses to “Mushroom Risotto”

    1. Mina 07/06/2010 at 5:41 am #

      yum–i love risotto! that looks delicious.

    2. Cathleya 07/06/2010 at 9:34 am #

      I love risotto but I’m always so afraid to cook it because it looks so laborious! It’s sooo yummy though; maybe i’ll make my husband do the stirring 🙂

    3. Serena 07/06/2010 at 2:15 pm #

      Looks delish – I love risotto!

    Leave a Reply

