House Projects

4 Jul

This weekend I took advantage of the bad weather and my lack of plans to stay in and get some stuff done around the house.  I stopped by Home Depot on my way home from work on Friday and picked up 2 cans of white high gloss spray paint.  It was pouring rain, but I was dedicated to my weekend of projects, and I didn’t want to wait. 

Once I got home, I begged Sean to start the projects, but we just got Beatles Rock Band, so my plans for a weekend project starting on Friday night were sidetracked.  But that’s ok, we had a lot of fun.  Sean and his brother said I needed to sing, but I didn’t have enough liquid courage yet, so I started on the guitar.  Sorry, no pictures of me rocking out, but maybe next time.

Anyway, the next day we were ready to start projects.  Up first, this lamp:

I sprayed it with some spray paint:

And then went to Goodwill to try to find a new lampshade for it:

This project was super inexpensive, and I love the way it looks now.  The lamp was free from my mom, the lampshade was $1.99, and the spray paint was $2.50, but I didn’t use anywhere near a whole can, so this whole project was about $3.00. 

Then, I had a mirror that had been sitting on the floor in our bedroom for an entire year.  I had every intention of hanging it up, but I never thought it looked right, so there it sat.  Finally, I was tired of looking at it, and decided that it probably just needed a change, so we spray painted that too:

I think it looks kind of tiny in this picture, but trust me it looks good.  My camera skills are just lacking. 

And, up last these decorations.  They reminded me of giant chess pieces, but I’m not sure what they were originally from.  These were free from my sister.

A little white spray paint:

Love them! 

I think spray paint and I have a lot of projects in our future.  It transforms things so easily and quickly.

2 Responses to “House Projects”

  1. Mina 07/05/2010 at 9:58 am #

    i love how the white makes things look so much more modern and clean. awesome job!

  2. Serena 07/05/2010 at 5:00 pm #

    Looks great!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

