Heirloom Tomatoes

20 Jun

Yesterday I decided to go to the grocery store without Sean, partially because he’s had to go the last few times without me, and partially because I knew I wanted to look around and take my time.  Sean is a get in and get out kind of guy at the grocery store, I like to linger on every aisle in case something catches my eye.  So off I went.  As I was perusing the aisles, I came across some heirloom tomatoes and I knew that I needed to make some sort of dinner with them.  So I picked up a couple and brought them home to see what I could do with them. 

(sorry I forgot to take a picture before I started cutting)

I had some whole wheat spaghetti on hand, so I decided to make a pasta dish.  First, I cut up the tomatoes, and threw them into a bowl.  I seasoned them with half a lemon, salt, pepper, basil, chives and parsley (I wanted to use fresh herbs, but didn’t think about this until after I was already home, so I used dried).

My helpers were on hand just in case I dropped something.

Then, I grated some gruyere cheese.  But I need to pause for a moment, because gruyere cheese is so omg delicious.  I think I ate more of it by just cutting off slices instead of actually grating it, but it’s so good, I couldn’t stop! 

 I don’t know that most people would have paired gruyere with this dish; they probably would have gone the parmesan route, but not me. 

Then, I boiled some pasta.  While I was doing that, I decided to cut up some zucchini squash and throw it on the grill.  See, Sean isn’t much of a pasta guy, so I knew that he probably wouldn’t want this, so I picked up a steak for him to grill.  Since he had the grill going, I figured I’d take advantage of it.

I seasoned them with olive oil, salt and pepper and put them on the grill. 

After the pasta was done, I drained it, and then put it back into the pot.  I mixed in the tomatoes with their seasoning, and then I sprinkled the grated cheese in.  But, I wasn’t done yet.  I tasted it, and even though it was good, I thought it needed a little something extra.  So, I pulled out the big guns–white truffle oil.  YUM.  I drizzled a little on, mixed it, and then plated it.

Oh, but wait, the grilled zucchini squash!

It was so delicious.  Sean tasted it, and he really liked it too.  I think I’ll make this again sometime.

One Response to “Heirloom Tomatoes”

  1. Mina 06/21/2010 at 9:44 am #

    that looks super tasty and perfect for a summertime dinner. never thought of gruyere–what a cool idea! molly and belle are aDORable.

Leave a Reply

