Home Embarrassment

2 Jan

So, there are a couple of things around my house that embarrass me.   And, I know you’re probably thinking, “Um…haven’t you been there over a year”?  And, yes, we have.  But for whatever reason I’ve done nothing to correct these items.  Finally, I decided that I was tired (enough of one of them) and needed to do something to fix it.  Up first, this beauty:

And because I love you guys so much, here’s a close up:

No, I didn’t make that.  But, I also didn’t take it down either.  To give you a little proximity on where this beauty sits, it greets you when you ring my doorbell while you’re waiting for me to answer.  Oh, and we don’t reserve this for just the winter, all visitors get to see it year round.  I know it has pine and all things winter in it.  However, not only does it have pine, it also has Fall leaves, you know so that it doesn’t have to just be used during the winter.  But I didn’t get rid of it any season. 

I think I was able to ignore it because we usually come in and out through the garage, so I didn’t really have to see it.  But finally I’d had enough.  The problem was that I wasn’t entirely sure what to replace it with.  Each time I went out, I’d search for something, anything to take its place, but I was never inspired.  I was limiting my thinking  to things that could fit in the basket rather than just getting rid of the whole thing entirely.  But, then I was at Target.  I’d gone for something specific though I’m not really sure what it was because I left with curtains and some other items, none of which I went in to get.  One of the other items was a replacement for the basket.  I stumbled on it in the candle section and I don’t think it’s necessarily for outdoor use, but hopefully that won’t be a problem. 

And, I know you’re thinking just stop rambling.  Ok, ok.  I got these:

I didn’t put a votive in it yet, mostly because I don’t think I’ll light one unless we’re having people over.  But, I’m happy with how they turned out.  I think they’re cute and hopefully they’ll be able to survive outside.   So what do you think?  Do you have any other suggestions for what I should put out there?

12 Responses to “Home Embarrassment”

  1. serena @bigapplenosh 01/02/2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Love the improvements! :)

  2. Megan 01/02/2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I’ve been living here for 2 years (Dave for 3!) and there are STILL things that embarrass us that we haven’t gotten around to changing, ha! I love the change you made – the votives will flicker so welcomingly for guests!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 01/03/2011 at 11:14 am #

      Oh you make me feel so much better that I’m not the only one! Thank you!

  3. E @ Oh!Apostrophe 01/02/2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I think they look great! Maybe get some of those battery operated flickering candle?

  4. Mina 01/03/2011 at 9:06 am #

    those look fantastic! what a great improvement!

  5. Abby 01/03/2011 at 9:06 am #

    I still have things in my house that I need to get rid of — you’re not alone! I think one of my goals for 2011 is to focus on home decorating…because, let’s face it…things aren’t going to fix/decorate themselves! Love the votives!

    • kelsey@mintedlife 01/03/2011 at 11:15 am #

      Yes! Hopefully I’ll keep going. There are definitely other things that need improvement. Hopefully I’ll be inspired. :)

  6. Amy 01/03/2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Love these and they’ll be so pretty all lit up! I just put up something on a wall that’s been blank 2.5 years we’ve been living here. We’ll probably move soon. That’s the irony of my life.

  7. Nikki 01/03/2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Oh I like those a lot!!! And what a good contrast with the stone!! Love it!

  8. Ellie 01/03/2011 at 2:08 pm #

    You could put battery flicker tealights in them. I found some at the dollar store.

  9. Kim 01/03/2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Ahhhh! I’m going to miss the strange, teal, piney door greeting things!

  10. Jessica 01/03/2011 at 8:51 pm #

    I think the new votive holders are great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

