Wooden Pallets

15 Nov

This past weekend I went to Dallas for some family time.  While I was there, I headed to the mall because really, there is no better mall than the one in Dallas.  I went into Anthropology and immediately was drawn to their housewares.  It wasn’t that it was anything all that new from what I’ve seen recently, but the decor had changed slightly and I was intrigued.  They’ve always done a great job of mixing pretty and rustic elements, but it was beyond that.  They started using wooden pallets to decorate with.  I see those things lying around in alleys all the time, so of course I immediately think that I can recreate this in my home. 

Here’s an example:

Source

They used the pallets to create shelves and display pretty dishware.  Genius!  Not only that, they also used them to show off some artwork:

Source

But my favorite were the shelves they recreated with the pallets to display colorful glassware:

Source

But the pallets weren’t the only wooden item loved by Anthro, wooden crates were also repurposed:

Source

This would be adorable in a nursery above the changing table (without the belts, bag and tights). 

Now to convince Sean that we need to pick up the random pallets we see on the side of the road.

6 Responses to “Wooden Pallets”

  1. jenna@fivefourteeneleven 11/15/2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Yes! I love this. I, too, always see these and think of how I could possibly use them in a home. I suppose it just takes Anthro to give us some true inspiration and a starting point. I can’t wait to see if, and what, you decide to do with this!

  2. Andnowlights (Kristen) 11/15/2010 at 10:39 pm #

    Love the pallets, for for the love of everything, make sure you tie them into trash bags (disassemble them if you have to so the bags are AIRTIGHT). There are some nasty, nasty bugs hanging out in warehouses where those pallets are usually used and you don’t want them in your house.

  3. Jessica 11/16/2010 at 8:59 am #

    The wooden pallets hanging on the wall is so cute! The first shelf would be super easy to do.

  4. Amy 11/16/2010 at 9:27 am #

    The anthro displays are always so fun. This is a really interesting idea!

  5. Nikki 11/16/2010 at 1:11 pm #

    I adore Anthropologie. I could move there!! I go there to feel peaceful and happy…. is that weird?

  6. Mina 11/17/2010 at 11:11 am #

    oh wow, what a great re-use of pallets! i’m sorry, did you say “nursery”? hehe, i like where you mind is.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

