Garage Sale

8 Nov

So, I was bragging about my bargain weekend yesterday, but what I didn’t tell you is where I found everything.  Well, a local non-profit in Austin, the Settlement Home, has an annual garage sale to raise money.  And, this is like no garage sale I’ve ever been to.  People come in droves looking for a sweet deal in the huge convention center type location the sale is held.  They have a wide variety of items to choose from, but my eye was on the furniture.  Within 5 minutes of being there, I found something I wanted.  But, I get anxious in new situations and I wasn’t really sure how it all worked, so I milled around for a while before I finally got the courage to go up to one of the volunteers to let her know that I wanted to buy something, and to ask her what the process was.   She wrote my name on the ticket and told me I had one hour to pay for it before it would be back on the market.  Phew!  That was easy enough.  So what did I find?

This (don’t mind Molly’s tail in the corner of the picture):

For $25!  Score! I was hoping to find more chairs to complete my dining room vision, but there wasn’t anything else I wanted.  Until I found the best find there, my brand new hutch!  I’ve been lusting after 60’s style furniture for a while now.  I’m always on the hunt for a dresser that fits this image, and finding something for my nearly empty dining room was even better.  When I flipped over the price tag, I was shocked.  $40??  Seriously?  That’s it?? For this?  I had to leave it momentarily to make sure it was ok to buy.  I was terrified that some vulture was going to swoop in and steal it from me, and Sean was in the book section.  I tried calling him on his cell phone, but no luck.  So, I took my chances and walked off to get him.  Not even 60 seconds later, I walked back to a lady buzzing around the hutch.  No!!  But, thankfully she walked away.  Sean went and flagged someone down to let them know we wanted to buy it.  While he was gone, that same lady came back and was really disappointed that we were buying it because she was just about to do the same. 

Ok, so enough chatter, here it is:

It has regular sets of drawers on each side, but the middle opens up a little differently:

I decided it’s a good spot to store wine:

Ok, so the question is, do I paint it?  Initially, I thought there was no way I was going to have it sit in my house as it was, but once I got it in, I thought it looked pretty good on its own.   If I were to paint it, I was considering grey.  I still want to do a wallpaper wall behind it.   So I’m conflicted.  What do you think?

14 Responses to “Garage Sale”

  1. jenniferlsmith 11/08/2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Honestly, I’ll admit that I’m totally and completely jealous of your garage sale treasure. I love, love, love finding things that I think are amazing, yet others think as of as old and outdated. I would definitely paint this. I think it would update it just a little while giving your dining room a focus point. If you’re planning on putting wallpaper up, I would probably choose that first and then decide on what color to paint it. Good luck and have fun!

  2. Andnowlights (KMSull) 11/08/2010 at 10:01 pm #

    I vote paint it, just because it’ll make it feel more like yours! And You can do really adorable things with paint!

  3. Jessica 11/08/2010 at 11:03 pm #

    You have some great finds there! I think that piece looks great like it is but it would look just as awesome in a lighter color like gray. 🙂

  4. jenna@fivefourteeneleven 11/08/2010 at 11:23 pm #

    Oh, it’s beautiful as is but they grey paint would just make it shine. I love it! I so wish we had a garage sale like that here. Great find!

  5. kristin 11/08/2010 at 11:38 pm #

    it would look good in grey… but please don’t paint it!!! if anything, a good sanding & an easy polish with some teak oil would be perfect. it’s a great mid-century modern piece in its original state… can’t get much better than that!

  6. marasimon 11/09/2010 at 7:07 am #

    Don’t paint it!! It’s GORGEOUS on it’s own, I think you’ll lose some of the look and authenticity if you paint it…SERIOUSLY great find and what a ridic price!!

  7. Liz 11/09/2010 at 8:09 am #

    Love your finds! I’m a big fan of stained or natural wood, but not painted wood… so I would be against painting it. But I think you should try it out if it’s what you really want! Can’t wait to see how it all comes together.

  8. Amy 11/09/2010 at 8:52 am #

    Sales like that make me nervous when I see something I want! What an awesome find! I think it’d look great either refinished like @kristin said or painted gray. I love gray wood furniture. I know, that wasn’t very helpful.

  9. lbrookeburnett 11/09/2010 at 9:22 am #

    Paint it! Oh my goodness, it would be so lovely. If you ever want to restore it later, it’s not difficult to strip the paint and restain. Go for the gold, girl!

  10. Morgana 11/09/2010 at 9:50 am #

    I vote Grey!

  11. Mina 11/09/2010 at 10:46 am #

    wow, what a find! i kinda like it the way it is, but i have no imagination.

  12. Nikki 11/09/2010 at 10:54 am #

    I am so impressed with your finds, and super jealous!! I would leave it for a few weeks as is, then see how you feel. It seems to be in really good condition, so you may end up really liking it as is. I think it would look good gray, but wait a little bit before you do it.

  13. Abby G. 11/09/2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I love it! I think I would leave it as-is, or maybe refinish it and stain it a bit darker. You’ve inspired me to try to grab the hubs and head to our (huge!) local rummage sale / flea market this weekend.

  14. Ellie 11/13/2010 at 10:09 am #

    Don’t paint it!!! It’s so great the way it is. Maybe try replacing the drawer pulls with something more modern to tie it in with more pieces in the house. I think it would be a shame to cover up the wood grain though.

    Congrats on such awesome finds!!

Leave a comment