Minnesota State Fair

12 Sep

Wow.  I ate close to a weeks worth of calories at the state fair and I am not proud of that.  I don’t think I need to eat anything fried ever again.

We started with fried potato skins covered in ranch and cheese

Moved on to fried pickles with ranch dipping sauce

Then corn dogs

Chocolate covered bacon

(I don’t eat meat, so I didn’t take part in these, but I heard the corn dog was good, bacon was not so good, it was cold)

Fried cheese on a stick

(vegetarian corn dog to me)

Fried green tomatoes with ranch dipping sauce

And quite possibly the grossest thing I’ve ever heard of…a scotch egg.  It’s hard-boiled egg, surrounded by sausage and then deep-fried.  It comes with some dipping sauce too.  I learned that the dipping sauce for everything at the Minnesota state fair is ranch dressing.

But, don’t think that we just ate food and did nothing else, we also saw some of the biggest vegetables I’ve ever seen

And some of the smallest vegetables I’ve ever seen

And the only other thing I like to do at the fair besides eat, is pet the animals

And, I know it looks like I’m really scared of this lamb, but I was actually really sad because he looked like he had a cold.  Poor guy.

They had a birthing center too where you can watch animals be born, but we missed it.

The next day I felt like I needed to eat some veggies immediately, but it was a lot of fun and I’m glad I got to go.  Although, I have to say it, the Texas fair is better.  Sorry!

11 Responses to “Minnesota State Fair”

  1. Kim 09/12/2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Birthing center? Ohhhhhhhh, that kind of birthing center.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/13/2010 at 8:28 am #

      Yep, that kind. Not the place where women go to birth at the state fair. :)

  2. Mara 09/13/2010 at 5:23 am #

    Um, YUM!!!! All that food looks goo-oooood…

  3. Mina 09/13/2010 at 9:41 am #

    oh man, everything looks so delectably fried.

  4. Cathleya 09/13/2010 at 12:06 pm #

    This is the first year we’ve missed the MN state fair in 4 years I think! We typically try to make our summer trip back to Mark’s hometown coincide with the fair but we had a wedding to go to earlier this summer in MN so didn’t get to go. I’ve never tried the Scotch Egg but have always been curious! Looks like you had a blast and I would LOVE to go to the Texas State Fair! I saw Oprah’s special on it and drooled the whole time! :)

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/13/2010 at 8:27 pm #

      Yes! You have to come! It starts September 24th and goes through mid Oct….

  5. Ashley 09/13/2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I love the food recap! It actually all looks really good to me. And I won’t tell Adam that you called his Scotch Egg (“this is LITERALLY my only reason for being at the fair today”) disgusting.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/13/2010 at 8:28 pm #

      Sorry, Adam! I meant to say it was quite possibly the most delicious thing I’ve ever seen.

  6. Anne 09/13/2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Texas State Fair, Schmexas State Fair. I thought we talked about this, Kelsey.

    • kelsey@mintedlife 09/13/2010 at 8:28 pm #

      Damn! You’re right. Well, to make it up to you, I say we go to the Texas fair and you can tell me how much it sucks. Ok?

  7. shelikesruffles 09/15/2010 at 8:00 am #

    Mmmmm fried pickles! I’ve only had them once, but they were magical! Now I’m craving them…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

